Slow Cooker Vegetable Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This chili was freakin amazing! I just got an old crockpot from my mother-in-law and had to try it out. Boy, this was the perfect thing to try out my new (old) crockpot with. I really liked the idea of a veggie chili but my husband insisted I put meat in it as well. So I added a 1/2 pound of lean ground beef and also substituted red kidney beans instead of garbanzo. The best chili I've ever had! The veggies added so much flavor and really gave it that home-cooked taste. The slow cooker also had a lot to do with that. Three adults (including me) gobbled the whole thing up in one sitting and trust me, we were SO FULL!! My baby even liked it. I also served it with saltine crackers, cheddar cheese, and sour cream. TO DIE FOR!! I must say I'm not the greatest cook but this recipe is foolproof! I will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My husband and I did not care for it. I really wanted to to like this, but the flavors were odd, and it seems like too much tomato for this amount of veggies, and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very good, but not quite a chili. I added about 1 1/2 cups chicken broth because there was no liquid at all. Had a delicious flavor with all the veggies, but a bit more like a hearty vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I've been looking for a good veggie chili recipe and this is it! A little too much chili powder for my taste, made it seem unbalanced. I'll cut back and add more oregano and cumin next time and see if it will even out, but all in all, very good and very easy since there is no additional cooking of the veggies. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Too tomato-ish for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I Just made this chili in the crock pot. I exchanged the garbanzo beans for black beans and kidney beans and it was really good. It tastes just as good as if it had meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I made this chili for my husband because he was sick and it sounded like a wholesome, spicy soup to help heal! I omitted the zucchini and added a can of kidney beans. For the spices, I added 1 Tbls of each, and it's just the right amount of heat for me, especially with the green chilies. My slow cooker is also a rice cooker with just one heat setting which I think is high, so I set it on high for a couple hours and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My husband does NOT like vegetarian dishes, but he LOVED this! It is so hearty and filling that you will never miss the meat! I love that this chili is hearty and healthy and so very colorful! I left out the ingredients I didn't have on hand, and added a few more cans of whatever I did have in the pantry. I added a can of corn and a can of ranch style beans, and extra bell pepper, and added some hot sauce and creole seasoning. This was a great recipe if you're cooking on a budget or need to clean out the pantry and fridge! I will be keeping this one in my recipe box! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is excellent veggie chili. The prep does take quite a bit of time because of all the chopping, but it's worth the effort. I made a double batch for a party and everyone gave it rave reviews. I added extra chili powder because we like it with a little extra bite. Even so, it wasn't spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Made this last night for the first time. It was my husband's first experience with vegetable chili and he really liked it! We both really enjoyed it and decided that it's a keeper. I left out the carrots as I didn't have any, and I added some mexican blend cheese on top when I served it. Also served cornbread with it. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States