Slow Cooker Vegetable Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Absolutely yummy. Didn't have the stewed tomatoes so I used 2 fresh roma, small can of tomato sauce, 1/2 c water with 2 veggie broth cubes, and black beans instead of garbanzo. Great vegan recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Maldonado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Buda, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Mmmm. Rich and hearty. Tasted pretty good and it was ALMOST exactly what I was looking for. THere are a few others that I have to try but this may end up being my fall back veggie chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was good, however, you don't taste any of the vegetables--just the chili flavor. Therefore, I nix the idea! I like the flavor of vegetables in my veg dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Love it! I add a can of kidney beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I thought this was great. All though I'm not a vegetarian, I didnt seem to miss the meat. I made this for a big group, most of which where vegetarians. They all loved it and the entire huge slow cooker bowl was practically empty. I did a few alterations...I double the recipe. I added 3 tsps of chili powder rather than the 1/3 cup..mildly spicy, 1/2 can of the chili green peppers. I had a 2 cans of red kidney beans and 1 can of corn (not creamed). It was really good. I didnt need to add any water like other had said. It was perfectly done, in-fact maybe a little more liquid than I would have liked. But still great! My boyfriend who is a big meat eater even had two bowls.. If you really want to taste the spice of the chili, I would suggest maybe a little more chili powder than 3 tsp.. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Not to my liking, but I think that it's a good recipe for those who enjoy this type of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I substituted one can of white kidney beans for the garbanzos. I used about 1 tablespoon of chili powder and added two cans of V8 juice. I used extra liquid in the recipe because I was gone for 12 hours. Finally, I added 8 ounces of chopped mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms and onions before placing them in the slow cooker. This is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This recipe is excellent! It has a lot of flavor. I did alter it a bit, adding more of the things I like (like celery and garlic.) I also added corn and a pound of ground beef. It barely fit in my slow cooker! At first it appears as though there is not enough liquid, but as things start to cook down the chili gets a better consistency. It took 4-5 hours on high, but only because the carrots take so long to get soft. I WILL be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made this for a group of friends just before Thanksgiving and it was a huge success! Great flavor and can even be cooked on the stove if you need (just sautee the veggies until soft and let simmer as long as you can).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is delicious, but DO NOT use 1/3 C of chili powder! I'm from Texas and like things so spicy my nose runs, but both my roommate and I couldn't handle the spice. The flavors of the veggies were good though, and I'll make it again (just using lots less chili powder- probably 3 teaspoons or so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States