Slow Cooker Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is a very good soup recipe. I did not use the can of mixed vegetables. Instead I added six small red potatoes cubed (as suggested in another review), with the skin on and 5-6 peeled carrots, cut into chunks. I tossed in some frozen peas at the end and used orzo, instead of the fusilli. It's yummy and easy to modify to suit your taste. Thanks Pharlan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was the best homemade soup I have ever eaten. Even better than my mothers. I added potatoes and carrots instead of mixed vegetables because I don't like canned vegetables, they have to be fresh to make a soup truely outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I have made this a handful of times since Dec. The only thing I do different is leave out the pasta and add fresh carrots, celery, potatos in quarters, and beef stew meat if I want meat added,I flour the meat and fry lightly the night before in olive oil. Then throw it in the next morning I have also used this for just vegetable soup. Vegetable soup goes great with Midnight Cuban Sandwiches on this site. I do have to find a good homemade beef broth in the future to cut back on the sodium level since my husband now has to watch his sodium intake. Any suggestions let me know. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is a good starter recipe. The nice thing about it is you can add veggies and your own spices and herbs. We like bite-sized potatoes and carrots, and maybe not add pasta. A can of tomato sauce is good, too, for color. Grated parmesan cheese is wonderful for sprinkling on the top. Crusty bread is a must(we like to dip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Loved the flavor of this soup. The only changes I made was to use a can of crushed tomatoes instead of the stewed tomatoes as my kids don't like "chunks" of tomatoes in their foods. I also added another can of veggies. Next time I will use a "smaller" pasta as I thought the fusilli "took over" the soup. I will use alphabet pasta next time. This is a great tasting soup and will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so modified the recipe a little. I used low sodium beef broth, a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes w/ paste, 2 large, thinly sliced carrots, 1 chopped zucchini, 1 chopped summer squash, a bag of frozen green beans, and substituted a handful of bow tie pasta and a handful of orzo for the fusili pasta. Three-quarters of the way through the cooking I was worried that the soup was way too thin, but once the pasta was added, it thickened up nicely. Ended up being very tasty, and the squash/zucchini didn't get too mushy. Great leftover, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTWOMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Great receipt - even my kids loved it - I added more noodles than it called for but it was still great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is one of the best soup recipes I have ever tried. I make a double batch and freeze it every time. I just introduced it to my neighbour who wants a copy of this recipe as well. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Made this for the second time today! It's sooo good! Took other reviewers suggestions and used flavored tomatoes, fresh potatoes and carrots. I also added about 4 ounces frozen green beans. Also added a bay leaf and a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little kick. Delicous and hearty, perfect dinner for a cold fall day in the Midwest! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
My husband loved it! I thought it was pretty good. Not a great recipe for left overs though this dish HAS to be served fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Seibert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States