Slow Cooker Tuscan Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I *loved* this stew. I made a few changes that were suggested by other people and a couple of my own... About an hour before it was finished, I checked on it and the broth seemed a little too thin for me, so I mashed about half of one of the cans of beans and added them to the stew. This helped a lot. I also browned the meat with flour a little as suggested before adding it to the slow cooker, which also helped... In addition, I added about 4-5 medium sized potatoes to it. The mix of beans and potatoes was perfect... I also used fresh garlic as opposed to the powder and threw in some other seasonings that I tend to like in things like this. I added celery, carrots and onions as well. I used a little water instead of the wine... And instead of cut stew meat, I instead got a whole beef roast and put it in... When it was done, I used a fork to pull it apart. I preferred it over meat chunks usually used in stews; The juices from the roast gave the broth a better taste and the meat itself was delicious in the stew. It was delicious served over buttered biscuits.. Since this was made for a family of two, I had a ton leftover. I put it in containers and froze it for later. This recipe is definitely saved for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
What a delightful change from the heavy gravy from the typical onion soup beef stew. Still very flavorful! I wish I could have used the beans as I love them and it's kind of the point of the Tuscan theme but my husband won't eat them. I used baby red potatoes. I followed the recipe with the exception of fresh garlic, a half quartered onion and extra carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Excellent flavor in this stew, the only thing I run into is that the carrots don't cook all the way, so I precook them just slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was great! I substituted Campbell's condensed onion soup for the beef broth to add more flavor. I also omitted the cannelini beans this time, as I served over noodles. The beans will be great, however, especially for a hearty stew on a cold, winter day! Try this recipe--you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very Good! The only thing I might do different next time is use only 1 can beans and throw in some potatoes. I really missed potatoes in my beef stew. But this was fabulous even when going by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a huge hit at my hunting camp this past fall. Its hard not to make a meal that the guys won't enjoy but they all requested that I make this again next season!! Great recipe and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is very good! I noticed at the last minute that what I thought was a can of seasoned diced tomatoes was actually seasoned tomato sauce, so I used that. I replaced the beans with frozen peas and added some baby red potatoes. I did add a few shakes of sea salt (for the potatoes), coarse ground black pepper and 1 tsp. of liquid browning sauce. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was delicious! I am really surprised that more people did not use the beans, they were great! I love potatoes but I did not miss them! I dusted my stew meat in 1/4 cup of seasoned flour and browned it in olive oil first. I added some things-chopped onion, celery, sliced fresh mushrooms, 6 minced garlic cloves, instead of the powder, Worcestershire sauce, pepper, seasoned salt, Emeril's Essence, and a bay leaf. I used beef consomme instead of the broth, and Great Northern beans. I added in some fresh minced parsley when I added the beans. If you think the stew is too soupy, the flouring/browning the meat will help thicken it and also when adding the beans, take out a quarter of them and mash them before adding to the crock pot and it will thicken it nicely. I served this with crusty sourdough rolls. I will love to make this again! The broth/gravy is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe! I have to admit - I used it as a guide only - because my pantry was lacking this week - need to do some shopping! Still - it turned out great - and can't wait to make it again using your ingredients!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Everyone in our household loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States