Slow Cooker Turkey Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
We did try this recipe. There is nothing to "firm up" because it's the consistency of dry pie crust. I'm anxious to try a different version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I had a recipe years ago for Turkey Dumpling Stew and I absolutely loved it. So, I went to allrecipes to find a great recipe! Sadly, this isn't it :( I read all the reviews and therefore only put in 1 tbsp of poultry seasoning and put the slow cooker on high for the last hour to cook the potatoes all the way through. Well that didn't even help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Hi, Trying to use up turkey and thought this recipe looked good.....however, have no idea what "dumplings are" so will omit that.....will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This soup is good minus the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My family loved this. Followed the suggestion of others and used less poultry seasoning. Also thickened the turkey mixture before adding the dumplings only because we like ours a little thicker. I used a different dumpling recipe too. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Kansas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe with leftover turkey. It smelled so good cooking in the crockpot all day! I followed the soup recipe as written (except didn't use corn). There was WAY too much poultry seasoning. It actually turned the soup a greenish color and the flavor of it was overwhelming. I think 1 tsp. would have been plenty. For the dumplings, I tried following the recipe as written but ended up having to add about 1/4 cup of milk in order to get the dough to stick together. The dumplings were definitely too salty to eat. I wish i would have read other people's comments about the salt and poultry seasoniing before i made it. It might have turned out better. As it was, no one in my family of 4 liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Not bad! I used broth from a boiled turkey carcass left over from Easter along with whatever veggies I had in the house. I didn't have any poultry seasoning, so I tried supplementing with other herbs like basil and rosemary. When I checked on it after 6 hours, it seemed pretty bland, so I added quite a bit of salt. The dumplings really added some substance, and the overall flavor ended up being pretty good. A few tips on the dumplings: I had to add a bit of milk to get them to the right consistency, and I would definitely follow another reviewer's advice and use less salt next time--maybe 1/2 tsp instead of 1 tsp. Also, the temperature in the crockpot was not hot enough to cook the dumplings as well as I would have liked, so I ended up transferring liquid to a pot on the stove so that I could get the liquid to simmer. All this being said, it was a great way to make use of leftovers, and I would definitely make it again, just with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leenica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great recipe--must cut the chicken seasoning as to make the soup less salty. Also, the biscuit recipe is faulty--just use bisquick, or omit them all together. Soup is still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Pretty good. Just needed more dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I really wasnt impressed with this. Smelled GREAT, but was kind of bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States