Slow Cooker Turkey Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I followed the directions, mostly, I didn't use any of the poultry seasoning as it stated, I used fresh garlic instead of the powder. I also had to use some water for the dumplings as another had stated. I didn't have time to cook it for 6hrs so I cooked it on high for 4hrs and put the dumplings in for the last 30 min, I let the dumplings cook for 15min then took them out and thickened the soup with corn starch and water as my hubby doesn't like thin soups. Once I thickened the soup, I put the dumplings back in the crock pot and con't to let them simmer for 15min. My hubby said it was the best turkey soup he had tried, even better than his grandma's which is a huge deal. Happy cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I always add more dumplings but either way this is far better than chicken and dumplings and my family loves it. i make it every year at this time using left over turkey that I put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent!! I used box biscuit/dumpling mix instead of the dumpling recipe since there were some that altered it. Total hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this from scratch by boiling a turkey carcass for 4 hours and using the broth in place of canned stock and the poultry seasoning- it is much healthier and tastier that way. I'll use this again with chicken bones as well. I've never had dumpling soup before, and it turns out we quite liked it. From now on I will choose dumplings in my soup over noodles. I did have to simmer them for about 30 minutes to get them fully cooked, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Pretty good. Just needed more dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My family loved this. Followed the suggestion of others and used less poultry seasoning. Also thickened the turkey mixture before adding the dumplings only because we like ours a little thicker. I used a different dumpling recipe too. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Kansas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This soup is very easy to prepare and great for the crockpot when you have leftover turkey. I have to say, though, I was NOT a fan of the poultry seasoning. It gave the soup a bit of an odd flavor. I would omit it next time and maybe add a chicken boullion cube or 2 instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Hi, Trying to use up turkey and thought this recipe looked good.....however, have no idea what "dumplings are" so will omit that.....will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great recipe--must cut the chicken seasoning as to make the soup less salty. Also, the biscuit recipe is faulty--just use bisquick, or omit them all together. Soup is still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Not bad! I used broth from a boiled turkey carcass left over from Easter along with whatever veggies I had in the house. I didn't have any poultry seasoning, so I tried supplementing with other herbs like basil and rosemary. When I checked on it after 6 hours, it seemed pretty bland, so I added quite a bit of salt. The dumplings really added some substance, and the overall flavor ended up being pretty good. A few tips on the dumplings: I had to add a bit of milk to get them to the right consistency, and I would definitely follow another reviewer's advice and use less salt next time--maybe 1/2 tsp instead of 1 tsp. Also, the temperature in the crockpot was not hot enough to cook the dumplings as well as I would have liked, so I ended up transferring liquid to a pot on the stove so that I could get the liquid to simmer. All this being said, it was a great way to make use of leftovers, and I would definitely make it again, just with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States