Slow Cooker Turkey Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This soup is very easy to prepare and great for the crockpot when you have leftover turkey. I have to say, though, I was NOT a fan of the poultry seasoning. It gave the soup a bit of an odd flavor. I would omit it next time and maybe add a chicken boullion cube or 2 instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this from scratch by boiling a turkey carcass for 4 hours and using the broth in place of canned stock and the poultry seasoning- it is much healthier and tastier that way. I'll use this again with chicken bones as well. I've never had dumpling soup before, and it turns out we quite liked it. From now on I will choose dumplings in my soup over noodles. I did have to simmer them for about 30 minutes to get them fully cooked, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent!! I used box biscuit/dumpling mix instead of the dumpling recipe since there were some that altered it. Total hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I always add more dumplings but either way this is far better than chicken and dumplings and my family loves it. i make it every year at this time using left over turkey that I put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this and thought it was yummy!!! The dumpling recipe was a little off but I kept adding melted butter until it was doughy. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The dumpling mix is way off. You'll def have to add milk or water - probably about 1/4 cup! Also, 1 tsp salt in only 1 c flour!? Darn! I should've thought about that before I made them. They are sooooo salty! Also, 2 Tbspn's poultry seasoning is A LOT! I doubled everything else, but only used 2 heaping TSPN's of it and it seemed to be plenty. Not a bad mix of ingredients, but you'll need to adjust the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I followed the directions, mostly, I didn't use any of the poultry seasoning as it stated, I used fresh garlic instead of the powder. I also had to use some water for the dumplings as another had stated. I didn't have time to cook it for 6hrs so I cooked it on high for 4hrs and put the dumplings in for the last 30 min, I let the dumplings cook for 15min then took them out and thickened the soup with corn starch and water as my hubby doesn't like thin soups. Once I thickened the soup, I put the dumplings back in the crock pot and con't to let them simmer for 15min. My hubby said it was the best turkey soup he had tried, even better than his grandma's which is a huge deal. Happy cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busybee
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed this soup. I thought that 2T of poultry seasoning was a little too much, I will use less next time (I could taste it a little more than I would have liked). Also - the 2T of melted butter wasn't enough liquid for the dumplings so I had to add water to the mixture - but they were fantastic dumplings! We would definitely make it again, it was very easy and tasty. My husband recommended thickening and putting in a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States