Slow Cooker Turkey Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was great, but due to the new gov't regulated temperatures on the slow cookers, it needs to be cooked for a shorter amount of time. Low is 200 degrees, high is 300. The old temps were 185 and 212 respectively I believe. So, if you cook this for 7-9 hours, even on low depending on the size, you will overcook it, and it will be dry. This goes for most of your old slow cooker recipes if you have a slow cooker made in the last five years. You should make this on a weekend, and check the temperature as you go to see when it comes to the safer temperature of 165. Then you will have an accurate guage of how hot your slow cooker is cooking at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I guess I am a late bloomer to the whole slow cooker craze - let's add to that what my head is saying "Turkey? In a SLOW COOKER?!". I must say though that this was the simplest and best way to do a Thanksgiving turkey. I don't normally eat a lot of meat, much less like to touch it so anything that saves me from having to poke, prod, and smear anything on a piece of raw meat is worth a second look (in my book, anyway). The turkey was so tasty and moist. It was unbelievable. My whole family LOVED it. We didn't even have any leftovers...and it was requested for Christmas dinner - yes, instead of ham. I did do as other reviewers suggested and added a few pats of butter and a few shakes of poultry seasoning. Other than those oh so labor intensive extras (ha ha), all else was spot on. Thanks for sharing! This recipe really saved a lot of time and hassle on the holidays. I was able to spend much much more time enjoying things rather than running around like crazy trying to get everything just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I didn't use this recipe to cook my turkey, but I felt this deserved 5 stars because you gave me confidence to try to cook my turkey breast in the crock pot, and it was the best thing I have ever done!! I used an over night marinade, but the best part of this method is no babysitting the turkey in the oven, no wondering if it is overcooked/undercooked, no trying to coordinate all the sides to come out warm and ready to serve on time with the turkey. In fact, I also used crock pots for the mashed potatoes, stuffing, and gravy. Serving and cleanup was a breeze, plus using crocks freed up my oven for the casserole and sweet potatoes and rolls. It saved me a ton of time slaving in the kitchen so I could do other things. Thank so much for this great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I cooked it 9 hr low because come back from work later. The turkey taste good. But would like a little moist. May add some water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic! Super easy and tasty! Healthy too! Drippings made a perfect gravy when thickened with a flour and butter rue! Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Incredible. Where has this recipe been?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Loved it!!!! I put onions, carrots and celery in the bottom of the crock pot. I also rubbed everything with butter (inside and out) prior to putting on the soup mix. The only other seasoning I used was pepper. I put it on low for about 9 hours. It was awesome!! So moist, tender, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Turned out dry, but very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this today for our Christmas Eve dinner. Wow, it turned out better than expected. I was a little nervous since I could only find a 9 lb turkey breast, which is 3 pounds larger than what the recipe called for. I cooked it on high for 2 hours instead of one and on low for an additional 7 hours. It was perfect and super juicy. I will use this recipe in lieu of a whole turkey from this point forward. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Working Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
The only change I made was spread a can of low sodium cream of mushroom soup over the top of the turkey, then sprinkle the onion soup over this. Everyone absolutely loved this. You also have your gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 980) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States