Slow Cooker Turkey and White Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this with Ground Turkey and it was amazing! I left out the hot chili's because I can't eat hot spicy food, and it was still great! I think it's the hominy and cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Make sure that you like Hominy before you make this because it has a very strong flavor. I would have used about a third of it had I known that it would be such a dominate flavor. It tasted like Hominy and cumin. I would not make this again even if I tweaked the amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This turned out really well as a basis for my modified chili. We really watch our salt intake, and my husband is allergic to corn, which required some modifications to the ingredients. I'm also a little bit lazy. What I changed: - Instead of turkey, used 1 lb ground chicken and 1 lb ground sausage. - Only one (large) onion - Used about 36 oz. of reduced sodium chicken broth, which is less than what the recipe called for. - Replaced the hominy with a can of Northern beans, and instead of 3 cans of white beans unblended, I used 2 plus 1 of pinto beans. - Omitted the Cajun and serranos. - Added 7 oz of green chilis, about 16 oz of salsa verde, and some pinches of chili powder and red pepper flakes. I correctly assumed this wouldn't all fit in my small crock-pot, so I did it on the stovetop in a dutch oven for the same amount of time (about 6 hours), stirring every once in awhile, and without the lid on for the last hour so it could reduce a bit. Turned out great! Nice flavor, not too spicy (I have a tender mouth), but not too bland either (my husband likes things spicier). We served with an irish soda bread, which is very cornbread-like without corn, and it was a great dinner. Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was very spicy. I will make it again but change/reduce the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Slow Cooker Turkey & White Bean Chili Haiku: "Took some time to prep. (Way more than 20 minutes.) But well worth the wait!" I halved the recipe, only having a 14.5 oz. can hominy, but it was definitely time-consuming to cook and shred the turkey breast, and blend the beans/broth/hominy. (I don't have an immersion blender, so I just dumped the cans in my regular blender, then poured it into the crockpot.) I was a little disappointed that the Cajun seasoning and serrano pepper flavor didn't come thru very strongly, but bonus points for that - my spice-averse-yung'in was able to devour her bowl. I think if I make this again, I'll wait til I have some leftover chicken or turkey to shred, increase the spices, and wait to put the cilantro in at serving. (It virtually disappeared into a faint afterthought.) Otherwise, a very tasty chili w/ a glob of sour cream, green onions, and a handful of crushed tortilla chips in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this with 2 lbs ground turkey and more serrano pepper and seasonings. Just mushed the hominy and one can beans with a fork instead of all that trouble with the immersion blender. It came out great! Just through it all in the crockpot and let it go. Didn't pre-cook the ground turkey since it doesn't have a whole lot of grease wasn't worried about it ending up swimming in grease and it wasn't. Everyone at work loved it. Will defenitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy1166

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
On a rainy day this hit the spot with corn bread. Couldn't find turkey breast so used ground turkey breast meat and it worked out very well. Shared with family neighbors on this rainy day who loved it as well. Will keep this in mind during the cold season. TS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I removed the cilantro and substituted Great Northern beans for cannellinis - next time I might add more serranos and some chipotle or chili powder to add more kick. I'd also reduce the amount of broth, as mine came out a bit soupy. Overall a pretty solid recipe that's easy to tweak to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I love this recipe, of course with a few changes. I use chicken istead of turkey, and i poach it instead of panfrying it. I also only use one onion instead of two. With those few changes its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe is great with modifications. I used 3 jalapenos and 1 poblano chili, 2 11 oz. cans of (Green Giant) chipotle white corn. I also used home made turkey stock and left over turkey (from Thanksgiving). Blended together one can of beans, corn and some stock as directed. I did not need the cumin or the cajun seasoning. I cooked everything on high in the crock pot for about 4 hours. I also added some corn starch thickening at the end. Everyone put on their own cilantro and cheese. The chili had a deep rich flavor without being too spicey. Everyone raved about it and went back for more (2 daughters, their husbands and my husband as well as myself). By far the best white chili I have ever made or tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States