Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Perfect! Yummy. Cooked overnight and throughout the day for a cookout and everyone loved it! I used it for a dip for calzones and it was great! I would double the recipe though because it only made a small amount. I added a can of tomato paste. It's very chunky, got a great tang to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was so easy & tasty. My whole family loved it. I made the recipe with 40 roma tomatoes fresh from the garden, & used a banana pepper and 1 tsp. cayenne & it was still like an arabiatta sauce. (Added a bit of sugar too!)Everything else, as is! Excellent! We used it for pasta, then the next night for a spicy Chicken Parm. (I didn't seed the tomatoes & the sauce was great...like a fresh tomato sauce from Italy...not the thick Americanized ones.) I'll use up my tons of tomatoes on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I am lucky, been cooking a long time and know intuitively how to make things yummy, so I usually am able to take any recipe and make it my own AND make it 5 star! I also am lucky because in Tucson, AZ, spring is Heirloom Tomato season, so I used my own fresh 12 tomatoes from the garden. For this recipe, I used a Vidalia Sweet onion and 10 fresh garlic cloves (see photo!), all minced very fine and sauteed in 1 Tof EVOO; when they were translucent after 5-7 minutes, added diced zucchini and sauteed all another 5 minutes with lid on low. Added all to the peeled, seeded and crushed tomatoes in the slow cooker on low...and went to bed! In the A.M., the juices had cooked off; it was a very rich, thick and chunky sauce. THEN I added spices but absolutely no cayenne. Wanted to keep it strictly tomato sauce for pasta; cayenne is too weird for us, but to each their own! What I DID add was garlic powder, fresh crushed oregano and fresh basil, 1 tsp. garlic salt and 1 tsp. pepper and let it sit on low for another hour. THEN...I tasted it. NOW is the time to really hone down the flavors to make this your very own concoction, with dried herbs, spices and especially if it needs salt. Ended up adding more salt (about two teaspoons total for the recipe), granulated garlic (this is normal for me, can't have too much garlic), onion powder, dried oregano, thyme, basil and ahem, some cumin. I love how this basic recipe lets me experiment! Every time different AND zesty! Thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I let this cook overnight about 12 hours in total and boy does this have a kick. I've frozen the rest so we can enjoy the rest later. Will make again without doubt. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
My stepmom's parents have a huge farm and they gave us all these tomatoes so this was one of the recipes I tried first. It was excellent. The flavors are very good together and I like the small bite the cayenne gives it! I doubled this recipe because I was feeding a lot of people and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Excellent. The flavor of this sauce is very good. The only thing I will do the next time, though, is to reduce the pepper. I like spicy recipes, but my husband does not. So I need to make it a little less spicy. I made ravioli and used this for the sauce. Very tasty and fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monessen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great way to use bulk tomatoes - thanks!I doubled recipe, used ~1t. red pepper flakes instead of cayenne, diced the tomatoes (didn't peel or remove seeds), added 1 T sugar, cooked for 15 hrs over night, and enjoyed a rich, mild sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Love this! Tastes wonderful,and really makes the house smell great! Such an inviting, warm aroma...real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLANCE23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is an awesome italian tomato sauce. I put in about 1/4 of the cayenne and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Just Amazing! As soon as I tried it, I stqrted making a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States