Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Love this! Tastes wonderful,and really makes the house smell great! Such an inviting, warm aroma...real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLANCE23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I did not slow cook this for 10-15 hours as directed b/c I didn't have the time so I only did 4 hours on high. The flavors were great! It did end up condensing dramatically since I cooked it on high so maybe that is to blame, but it was super spicy! And, I only used 2/3s of the recommended cayanne per other's notes that this is way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I am making this recipe again as we speak. I really like the fact that you can double it. I did add ground beef to it and used it for spaghetti. I used the other half as the sauce for a lasagna. We loved everything about it but didn't read the reviews before making it. My husband doesn't like spicy so I will also have to cut down the cayenne. I loved the spice but he said it was a bit much. He still couldn't stop eating it! I will keep this recipe for all homemade sauce because it was really easy and tastes great! Thanks for posting it. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
It was good, but very small and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wow- this was WAY too spicy for my taste. Like last reviewer, I'm sure if I tone down the cayenne to 1/3 of the recipe it will be great. Rated this 4 stars but minimizing the pepper would make this a 5 for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Good recipe, not enough flavor for my taste though. Would add tomato sauce and tomato paste, and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I've tried this method twice now, each time tweaking some of the ingredients to try for a better result. It just wasn't very good either time. I've had a much better result using canned tomato sauce. The flavor and consistency is just off but I can't really determine exactly what needs to be done to fix it. I used about 18 roma type tomatoes from my garden, used dry oregano and 1/2 cup of fresh chopped basil. We don't like a hot pasta sauce so I omitted the cayenne altogether and used fresh ground pepper for the flavor. In addition I added about 1/4 cup dry sherry, 2 cans of chopped portobello mushrooms, extra garlic, and 2 bay leaves. I pureed the sauce in my blender because my kids prefer a smooth sauce. The 2nd time I made it I even added in a can of tomato paste and a can of tomato sauce, hoping to richen and improve the flavor but it didn't help much. Just as a footnote this this, a trick I learned a while ago is that if the sauce tastes too acidic add 1 or 2 Tbsp. butter, mix it in and taste. Add more if needed. It should balance out the acidity. Sugar also helps reduce acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Excellent. The flavor of this sauce is very good. The only thing I will do the next time, though, is to reduce the pepper. I like spicy recipes, but my husband does not. So I need to make it a little less spicy. I made ravioli and used this for the sauce. Very tasty and fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monessen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I used this as starter to make tomato based pasta sauce & I was intrigued. I had to modify it quite though. There was far too much cayenne pepper and I will reduce it drastically for next time. While I will rate the basic recipie as a 3 star here is what I added for my personal tase: Zucchini, extra garlic, and some tyme. I also added mushrooms, red & yellow peppers and I used fresh herbs for the seasonings. 3 hours prior to serving I added some browned & seasoned ground meat (this time I used buffalo but I typically go with lean beef).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I let this cook overnight about 12 hours in total and boy does this have a kick. I've frozen the rest so we can enjoy the rest later. Will make again without doubt. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States