Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Needs more onion and much more garlic along with celery and tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malcolm Reding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I suggest that those people who find the cayenne pepper too spicy that they use red chili pepper flakes. I just find that chili flakes works and has a much better taste in Italian recipes. Can't wait to actually try this recipe, hence the three-star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is pretty good if you like a spicier sauce, and of course if you don't...adjust it. No big deal. The reason I gave it only 3 stars was that it invests an awful lot of cooking time and electicity for what is a little better than average sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This sauce is fantastic! I've made it twice and can't wait until I have enough tomatoes to make it again. I used a combination of types, just whichever I had too many of. I did not add any cayenne because it would have been too spicy for me, so I used a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes. Yes, it is somewhat thin and chunky. I lived in Italy for a couple of years and that's how true Italian sauce is! This is the closest thing I've had to the real thing since leaving there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good and spicy. Thanks for Sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I think this is a good recipe; however, I think it does need to be cooked for 15 hours if cooking on a low setting in a crock pot in order to get a nice sauce. Otherwise, it looks more like salsa (too chunky). I diced my tomatoes instead of crushing them, and this allowed for some nice small chunks after they cooked. This is a nice chunky sauce, by the liquid part was a bit thin, so I added a can of tomato paste to bolster the consistency. I also added a pound of ground beef to make it a little heartier and more savory. Nice seasoning suggestions in this recipe, and the flavor and texture really does come out the longer it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I just really thought this recipe was missing something in the flavor department. Really had to doctor it up quite a bit. The consistensy was also not quite what i was expecting so I added some cornstartch mixed with water to thicken it up a little. I think this sauce would be best used for a chicken parmesan dish rather than over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great flavors but I thought it was a little thin. I added a can of tomato sauce to try and thicken it up. It also didn't have the color I was looking for in a tomato sauce. But the taste was nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmiliaAerynRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I put it in the slow cooker for 10 hours and it cooked down to make about 2 servings rather than the 6 it was suppose to make. The taste was a big disappointment as well. It tasted nothing like I thought tomato sauce should taste like. It was like a strange stewed tomato concoction instead. I only put in half the cayenne pepper it called for and it will still be too spicy for my kids. A big flop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I cut the tomatoes the night before and threw everything in the crock pot the next morning before leaving for work. It cooked for about 13 hours. I was worried about letting it cook for so long because a) my crock pot seemed too big and b) there wasn't a lot of liquid in the pot. My concerns were unwarranted, it was delicious! It had quite a kick from the pepper, but the cinnamon was a great balance. I served it over whole-wheat gnocchi and it was a hit! My husband even stole a bite from my plate when his was gone! This is definitely going to be a staple around our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States