Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Amazing! The last flat of tomatoes from our garden went into this versatile and taste-y recipe. I was slightly nervous about the cinnamon, but after about 15 hours in the crock, the flavors melded together beautifully. At the end of cooking, I used my immersion blender, which made a lovely and thick consistency. Now I am praying for spring - so I can plant more tomato bushes and make more of this yummy sauce! Thank you for posting your recipe; it's now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It ended up tasting good, but there were definitely not enough tomatoes as this cooked. I cooked on low, and it still started to burn. We ended up adding 28oz of tomato sauce to liquify it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very, Very good!! I will cut back on the oil on the next batch but overall...WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraleewanab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. It is spicy so if you don't like spicy, just add less cayenne. I will definitely make this again when I have an overload of tomatoes. Great to store for those winter months when fresh tomatoes aren't available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This tasted great before i even started cooking it. The only bother was peeling and removing the seeds from the tomatoes. The final result made the work worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I reduced the amount of cayenne. Cooking time was less and I also put it in my vitamix to make it smooth like tomato sauce. It was so very good. Need to get lots of tomato's so I can make it in my big crock pot and freeze some. Was so yummy over wheat angel hair pasta with lightly grated fresh parm. Thanks for the Recipe as I refuse to eat anything from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanci Kerp Brand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is now my go-to recipe. It's easier and easier each time. Tomatoes from the farmers market have 3 times now been made into this recipe with different spices each time, but this metod for all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guillermo Sparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The teaspoon of cayenne pepper was WAY too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This was a simple and tasty recipe! Easy and no need for a lot of ingredients. I used it to help me handle the surplus of romas from my garden. There was no need for the cayenne spice, though. The kids were anxiously waiting to try it because it smelled so good, but the spice was too much for them. The cinnamon was the secret to just the right amount of sweetness. Will become a regular dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This sauce is good, but wasn’t quite what I was looking for. I had Roma tomatoes that needed used up when I came across this recipe. To make this as written, you need to like some heat with your food. We do, so the cayenne wasn’t too much for my DH and I; but would have been too hot for my extended family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States