Slow Cooker Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I cooked this for 5 hours and added onions. this was not worth waiting for .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The chicken breasts were moist however VERY bland. Not sure what to do to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I would give this 4-stars for potential, maybe even 5. But unfortunately I failed to read the reviews (first time and it bites me!) so I didn't realize 7 hours was too long and that maybe it needed a bit more liquid. I don't know about the additional liquid, but for sure 7 hours was too long. I stopped it at 6 and it was a bit dry. BUT I see where it would be really good - next time I just won't cook it as long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I am so happy to have found this recipe because it is a good base to be creative and use up the remaining cans of tomatoes I had in the pantry. I used 5 chicken breasts, 3 cloves of garlic, 2 T soy sauce, 2-14oz cans of Stewed Tomatoes with Basil and Oregano, 1-14oz can of tomato sauce and 1-14 oz can of chicken broth. Placed frozen chicken breasts in the pot and poured all the other ingredients on top of it. Let it cook for 9 hours. On the 10th hour I added frozen peas and carrots. This version will be a little brothier (just how I like it) so reduce the chicken broth if you are using frozen chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I did what a lot of others did and used this recipe as a jumping off point. I put FROZEN chicken into the crockpot to keep it from over cooking. I did scatter a few dashes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder over the chicken before pouring the soup mixture over it. I did add a can of Campbell's Tomato Soup, as well as some extra garlic. Cooked 7 hours, shredded chicken, and served over pasta. (left the peas out). We LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Will never make again. Even with the tomato soup the chicken was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
For me too it turned out flavorless. The chicken was tender, but the sauce could use a lot more. It was missing something crunchy on the tongue, so I added some sauteed onions and would have added a green pepper if I had it at the time too. The next day, while reheating, I ended up adding quite a bit of tomato and basil mix, along with chili powder to give it more zest. The final result turned out not bad, but I won't be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Fairly good but, not sure about the peas. I am thinking about trying a different vegie next time but, still not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Good base recipe. Because of the prior comments regarding dry chicken, I added a cup of chicken broth and cooked on low for 5 hours. I also added a sprinkle of salt, pepper and garlic powder to each piece of chicken. I didn't have peas on hand but we love spinach so I added a bag of fresh spinach during the last half hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I was not very impressed with this. I added to can of tomatoe soup. Overall it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gastin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States