Slow Cooker Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The chicken breasts were moist however VERY bland. Not sure what to do to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I would give this 4-stars for potential, maybe even 5. But unfortunately I failed to read the reviews (first time and it bites me!) so I didn't realize 7 hours was too long and that maybe it needed a bit more liquid. I don't know about the additional liquid, but for sure 7 hours was too long. I stopped it at 6 and it was a bit dry. BUT I see where it would be really good - next time I just won't cook it as long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I am so happy to have found this recipe because it is a good base to be creative and use up the remaining cans of tomatoes I had in the pantry. I used 5 chicken breasts, 3 cloves of garlic, 2 T soy sauce, 2-14oz cans of Stewed Tomatoes with Basil and Oregano, 1-14oz can of tomato sauce and 1-14 oz can of chicken broth. Placed frozen chicken breasts in the pot and poured all the other ingredients on top of it. Let it cook for 9 hours. On the 10th hour I added frozen peas and carrots. This version will be a little brothier (just how I like it) so reduce the chicken broth if you are using frozen chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I did what a lot of others did and used this recipe as a jumping off point. I put FROZEN chicken into the crockpot to keep it from over cooking. I did scatter a few dashes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder over the chicken before pouring the soup mixture over it. I did add a can of Campbell's Tomato Soup, as well as some extra garlic. Cooked 7 hours, shredded chicken, and served over pasta. (left the peas out). We LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Will never make again. Even with the tomato soup the chicken was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
For me too it turned out flavorless. The chicken was tender, but the sauce could use a lot more. It was missing something crunchy on the tongue, so I added some sauteed onions and would have added a green pepper if I had it at the time too. The next day, while reheating, I ended up adding quite a bit of tomato and basil mix, along with chili powder to give it more zest. The final result turned out not bad, but I won't be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Fairly good but, not sure about the peas. I am thinking about trying a different vegie next time but, still not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Good base recipe. Because of the prior comments regarding dry chicken, I added a cup of chicken broth and cooked on low for 5 hours. I also added a sprinkle of salt, pepper and garlic powder to each piece of chicken. I didn't have peas on hand but we love spinach so I added a bag of fresh spinach during the last half hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I was not very impressed with this. I added to can of tomatoe soup. Overall it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and my husband and I thought it was just ok. It was not bad but definitely not great. We thought it was on the bland side and probably won't be making it again. But on the plus side, we both agreed that it was rather healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States