Slow Cooker Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this last night for my family. We loved it! My 4 year old said it was the best ever and had seconds. I did add tomato soup to it so it didn't dry out. Also since I work all day I couldn't add the peas. I just served it with veggies and mashed potatoes on the side. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I thought it was good. I cooked it on high for 3-4 hours. depends how many you put in the slow cooker.If it was dry just cook it less time. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
i really liked this! I liked that it is pretty healthy, and doesn't use canned creamed soup. (i use enough of that!) I did add a can of tomato soup, to make more sauce (there's no MSG in tomato soup, yay!) and i used a little less than 2 tbsp of the soy sauce. I was hesitant to try this b/c of the soy sauce (i'm just not a fan!), but my husband loves soy sauce, so I gave it a try and wow i really loved it! So fast and so easy. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is not bad. The chicken was somewhat dry and falling apart, but I think it's bc I cooked it too long--I wasn't able to turn it off when I meant to. I added tomato soup to the crock pot in addition to the other ingredients and so there was plenty of liquid. I think that it just needs the peas added a bit earlier and turned off within 7 or 8 hours and it'll be fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe is a great one if you use bone in chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts. I have a 6 quart slow cooker and I used 12 chicken thighs and quadrupled the sauce to go over them. Even after 12 hours on low, the thighs were melt-in-your-mouth moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I am so happy to have found this recipe because it is a good base to be creative and use up the remaining cans of tomatoes I had in the pantry. I used 5 chicken breasts, 3 cloves of garlic, 2 T soy sauce, 2-14oz cans of Stewed Tomatoes with Basil and Oregano, 1-14oz can of tomato sauce and 1-14 oz can of chicken broth. Placed frozen chicken breasts in the pot and poured all the other ingredients on top of it. Let it cook for 9 hours. On the 10th hour I added frozen peas and carrots. This version will be a little brothier (just how I like it) so reduce the chicken broth if you are using frozen chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Good base recipe. Because of the prior comments regarding dry chicken, I added a cup of chicken broth and cooked on low for 5 hours. I also added a sprinkle of salt, pepper and garlic powder to each piece of chicken. I didn't have peas on hand but we love spinach so I added a bag of fresh spinach during the last half hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I did what a lot of others did and used this recipe as a jumping off point. I put FROZEN chicken into the crockpot to keep it from over cooking. I did scatter a few dashes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder over the chicken before pouring the soup mixture over it. I did add a can of Campbell's Tomato Soup, as well as some extra garlic. Cooked 7 hours, shredded chicken, and served over pasta. (left the peas out). We LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
We thought this was pretty tasty. I did what another user suggested and added a can of tomato soup (only b/c I had one in the pantry and we like alot of sauce). We served this with pasta and the hubby and kids all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was delicious! We are learning to eat better so I am learning a new way to cook. I did add the can of tomatoe soup as suggested by others and only had regular diced tomatoes to I had to add my own basil (guessed at the amount). When it was done we put it atop a bed of rice. My fiancee who is 10x the cook I am even raved! We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States