Slow Cooker Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
After seven hours the chicken was dry and over cooked. It completely fell apart and was a shredded dinner. I thought the combination of ingredients would make for a good taste. I will try again with a shorter cook time to keep the moisture and the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is not bad. The chicken was somewhat dry and falling apart, but I think it's bc I cooked it too long--I wasn't able to turn it off when I meant to. I added tomato soup to the crock pot in addition to the other ingredients and so there was plenty of liquid. I think that it just needs the peas added a bit earlier and turned off within 7 or 8 hours and it'll be fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I thought it was good. I cooked it on high for 3-4 hours. depends how many you put in the slow cooker.If it was dry just cook it less time. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
We thought this was pretty tasty. I did what another user suggested and added a can of tomato soup (only b/c I had one in the pantry and we like alot of sauce). We served this with pasta and the hubby and kids all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe is a great one if you use bone in chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts. I have a 6 quart slow cooker and I used 12 chicken thighs and quadrupled the sauce to go over them. Even after 12 hours on low, the thighs were melt-in-your-mouth moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this last night for my family. We loved it! My 4 year old said it was the best ever and had seconds. I did add tomato soup to it so it didn't dry out. Also since I work all day I couldn't add the peas. I just served it with veggies and mashed potatoes on the side. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
i really liked this! I liked that it is pretty healthy, and doesn't use canned creamed soup. (i use enough of that!) I did add a can of tomato soup, to make more sauce (there's no MSG in tomato soup, yay!) and i used a little less than 2 tbsp of the soy sauce. I was hesitant to try this b/c of the soy sauce (i'm just not a fan!), but my husband loves soy sauce, so I gave it a try and wow i really loved it! So fast and so easy. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was delicious! We are learning to eat better so I am learning a new way to cook. I did add the can of tomatoe soup as suggested by others and only had regular diced tomatoes to I had to add my own basil (guessed at the amount). When it was done we put it atop a bed of rice. My fiancee who is 10x the cook I am even raved! We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and my husband and I thought it was just ok. It was not bad but definitely not great. We thought it was on the bland side and probably won't be making it again. But on the plus side, we both agreed that it was rather healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I was not very impressed with this. I added to can of tomatoe soup. Overall it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States