Slow Cooker Tipsy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Yum! I used bone-in skinless thighs, and cut the soup and wine in half - still made a ton. Served with rice and seasoned green beans. Omitted the olive brine as mentioned by other readers; the sauce picked up a nice not too strong taste from the olives. I considered next time removing the chicken and thickening the sauce (was thinner than I anticipated) but hubby said no, don't change a thing! I must respond to KRCOOK's nasty review .. first if you are not a fan of canned soup recipes - DON'T TRY THEM. Second, ok so it doesn't serve up like a meal in a gourmet restaurant but we are home cooks here generously sharing our family tried and true recipes - not executive chefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This is an outstanding recipe. Chicken breasts were used,and substituted black olives instead of the green. I omitted the mushrooms and used chardonnay wine instead of the chablis. This is an easy to assemble recipe and most definitly a keeper! Impressive dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I have always been very leery of concoctions made with canned soup, knowing that if one does not have the ability to create ones own sauce that there must be something wrong with the mix. However, I decided to give it a try, it sounded so exotic, I guess due to the mention of the combination of mushrooms; olives; et cetera. After slow cooking this mixture for 8 hours I can honestly say that I have never been so displeased with a recipe in my lifetime. I was not able to serve it as a main dish, not only due to the lack of palatable qualities but due to the fact that it absolutely had no presentation qualities. After spending a lot of money to make this dinner I was at least able to salvage some parts of it by taking the contents, adding some shredded cheese and creating quesadillas. It is with heartfelt disappointment that I submit this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Very good and easy. I would use a 3 oz jar of green olives (drained) rather than the 5 oz. jar to reduce a little of the tartness from the olives. Serve over rice to take advantage of the wonderful sauce. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
My husband and I both loved this recipe (and I loved having dinner "in the can" in the morning and not having to think about it again!) Here are my modifications: I removed the skin from the thighs but left the bones in - less fat, more flavor. I also used 12 thighs instead of eight (I had a "bonus buy" package) and it worked great - I would do it that way again as it yeilded lots of leftovers and there was plenty of saucy stuff to go around. I also used fewer olives than recommended and none of the olive brine from the jar. I will definitely be making this one over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I added chopped celery and onion and used cream of mushroom instead of any celery. It was wonderful. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERRINOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
As we are big fans of green olives, this recipe caught my attention. This was good the first night we had it, but on the second night the leftovers were even better! I also cut the amount of soup in half, and still had lots of sauce. A good family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is one of the best crockpot recipes I've tasted... most of the ingredients are already on-hand. I chopped a medium yellow onion and added about a tbsp. of minced garlic. Also used Pinot Grigio and cooked on low for about 9 hours. Served over brown rice. It really WAS better the next day, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Great, unique flavor. Remember to drain the olive juice before adding as they have a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
We liked it. Not a favorite but would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States