Slow Cooker Tipsy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Wasn't happy with this at all, unfortunately. The only thing I liked was that it was in the slow cooker and therefore I didn't have a mountain of dishes. I served it over rice, which helped with the saltiness issue, but honestly, that's not saying much as it was still WAY too salty tasting and I didn't even add any salt to the chicken, nor did I include the olive juice. Meh. It gets two stars because my boyfriend didn't mind it and because of the ease, but I don't think I'll be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Excellent slow cooker recipe. My first slow cooker experience. I played poker, my wife was working and this delicious thing was working in the crock. On the down side just a bit on the salty side, perhaps due to the green olives. Maybe a few less olives next time. Tasty !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I made this last night..- or a version of it b/c I didn't quite have all the ingredients on hand - and it still came out really good. I can't wait to try it again when I have all the "proper" ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Love, love, love this chicken! It turned out so tender & flavorful! My hubby wont touch olives, so I substituted a drained can of quartered artichoke hearts in water & loved the result. Definitely worth making for company. Served over a bag of frozen/steamer rice. Delicious!! I've already shared the recipe with 2 friends who also made it & they loved it too! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Super easy, super tasty and made great left overs. Probably not the most sophisticated or healthy recipe I've got in my arsenal, but definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
It was really good. More of a comfort food...like chicken soup. Biggest concern I have of this meal is the sodium level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I really liked this recipe and so did my whole family. I had some concern about using the whole jar of green olives after reading all the reviews, but, I decided to try it exactly as written and then tweak it later as needed. I didn't find the olives/olive brine overpowering in the recipe, actually I thought it was unique -- that may just be a personal preference thing. One thing I think that's worth noting and it has been said before in the reviews is the abundance of left over gravy. Next time I will reduce the by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Wow! absolutely delicious. This recipe could not be easier, and the result is spectacular. I used the chardonnay instead of chablis, and black olives instead of green. Next time i plan to use a ton of mushrooms. A recipe like this really demands as many mushrooms as you can fit. Can't wait to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is the best dish ever! I have made it several times and each time it just keeps getting better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe was great!! Changed it up a little - I used only 3 oz drained and sliced green olives, pinot grigio, and added a whole yellow onion, diced, and an extra 2 tsp flour to thicken the sauce slightly. It was great, and I served it over brown rice, and one person had it over a wheat roll. Good stuff and well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States