Slow Cooker Tipsy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Was'nt sure what to think when I saw pimento stuffed green olives in a chicken recipe but I was intruiged so to give it a fair shake I made it exactly as written the first time and we loved it. I've made it regularly ever since with very few changes. I like to brown the chicken a little longer than called for just to enhance presentation and keep it from falling apart too easily (it becomes very tender). I add garlic and other herbs during browning, whatever strikes my fancy. I've used several cuts of chicken but bone in thighs seem to be the best as the recipe calls for. and sometimes I'll throw a half a jar of capers in just for variety. Even though it's just my son and myself in the house I make the full amount and the leftovers make great luches at work. Thanks for a real original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe was okay. I didn't like the gravy part of it. And my husband didn't like the chicken being so dry. Overall it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
We thought this dish was great over white rice. As I tasted it while cooking I was beginning to be very dissappointed, but as the meal was complete and put over white rice It was very very good - Not a weekly meal, but very good for something different for chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaverized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
YUM! This was fantastic! Wouldn't dare change a thing. Thanks Foxworth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
The next time I make this, I will cook it at 350 degrees just till the sauce is warm/hot. While it is a good slow cook recipe, I would have preferred it immediately after putting it together and warming it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was a great, easy recipe. It was very easy to put together before I left for work. My whole family loved it. There was plenty for left-over and they didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davies67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I was not really impressed with this recipe, although I did use chicken breast instead of thighs I doubt it would have made much difference. Neither of my children would eat it after the first bite and my husband and I both said we would never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Loved the recipe! Great flavor that really pops with the green olives. DeLISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
The only thing I changed for this recipe was that I used chicken breasts instead of thighs. It wasn't good at all. Even the smell of it was gross. The only thing that was semi-decent was the chicken was very tender from being in the slow cooker. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I tried this recipe yesterday. It smelled wonderful cooking all day! However when we sat down to eat it was rather bland. The only change I made was I excluded the olives because I thought that was an odd addition and my husband doesn't like olives. Maybe the olives would have made it not so bland. I will make this recipe again but I will add some herbs and spices just to jazz it up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States