Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I admit I was more interested in the concept of cooking a turkey breast in the slow cooker rather than the recipe itself, so I cooked mine with some minor changes. The amount of Worcestershire seemed excessive so I just used a few shakes. Didn't use flour, the sage, or the can of turkey gravy. I seasoned the breast with garlic pepper and a little poultry seasoning and laid a couple of bacon strips over the breast to help keep it moist and to flavor the gravy (I've always done this with my tradionally roasted turkey). Knowing that a lot of juices would be produced, I just threw in a portion of the bag of turkey gravy that came in the package. I found the stated cooking time WAY too long--I would think 6 hours on Low should me more than adequate, and next time I would check it even sooner. The turkey at 6-1/2 hours was cooked to a higher temperature than I would have preferred, but was still surprisingly moist. After I pulled the breast out to rest, I thickened up the gravy with a little cornstarch on the stovetop. The turkey was succulent and moist and sliced beautifully, and the gravy was rich and flavorful. This method will definitely be making a comeback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
599 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
After putting two, almost nearly frozen 3lb. turkey breast roasts...boneless...in my crockpot to cook all night, I had to jump on here this morning to rave about the result. This recipe is fantastic! We won't be eating the turkey until much later this afternoon, but I have to admit that I did sneak a few tastes as I sliced it up. Here's how I prepared mine. I put the two roasts in a large crockpot, opened up both gravy packets and dumped that over the roasts, then added one chopped vidalia onion and one bunch of chopped celery hearts...leaves and all...and a bay leaf. Then I sprinkled the tops of the roasts with crushed dried sage, thyme, salt, and cracked black pepper. I set this to cook on low...thought the roasts might take all night and most of today because they were almost completely frozen...I started this at 9:30 last night and by 7:30 this morning they were tender, very moist, and exceptionally savory. I did get up to baste the tops once during the night, but I don't think it was really necessary. This is the only way that I will ever prepare turkey from now on. This is a must-try recipe; it is OUTSTANDING!! Thank you so much for sharing this...can't wait for dinner later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
522 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
IT WAS WONDERFUL! The only thing that I changed was half-way through the cooking time I added 1 1/2 cups of turkey broth to it (due to the comments reguarding dryness). It was moist and perfect. I added a little cornstarch and made a gravy with the juices in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Oh my gosh! This was fantastic! Best turkey I ever made. Super tender and juicy, falling off the bone, great flavor. And so easy! I did not have a can of turkey gravy, so I just put in the gravy packet that came with the turkey breast. I left the skin on, and I cooked longer than the recipe called for, about 11 hours, just because of timing for my Christmas Eve meal, but it would probably be fine timed as directed. I tied the breast with string as other reviewers have suggested and it looked beautiful coming out, nicely browned. When near serving time, I removed the breast from the crockpot and added about 2 cups of chicken broth to the drippings for gravy. I stirred a couple of tablespoons of flour into some broth and added that to the mix, and turned the crockpot to high to thicken. The result was an out-of-this-world gravy to go with the turkey. I am so pleased with this recipe. Can't wait for turkey sandwiches tomorrow! This is definitely a keeper, I'll be making it throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I was worried because I didn't follow the recipe exactly (I used a 3 lb boneless butterball turkery, and used the gravy packet it came with instead of a can of gravy) I followed the cooking time exactly and rubbed with oil before putting it in the crockpot, and it turned out AMAZING! This is such a keeper! And so easy you could have Thanksgiving dinner at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Slow Cookin' Dave
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Great recipe. Had it today for Christmas Dinner along with ham. Most all made positive comments on how good it was. I will make this again. Didn't know which way to lay the breast in the cooker so I laid it on the side. Might put the bone side up next time to keep the breast meat in the juice. See the pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Wonderful! I have cooked this twice now, and it has turned out better each time. One tip is to tie together with butchers string. My first breast slightly fell apart so I tied the second and it made a wonderful presentation. I also coated the bird breast in a mix of sage, rosemary, and basil and left it over night (after skinning.) It was HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This was really good. I used a small turkey, not just the turkey breast. Left out the turkey gravy since I didn't have any. Added garlic powder and black pepper instead of the garlic pepper and also added poultry seasoning. The turkey was effortless to make and so tender. Everyone ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This year I made Thanksgiving dinner, for the first time ever, for just me and my husband and I didn't want to make an entire turkey. This worked out perfectly. It gave me more room in my oven for other side dishes and the meat was very moist. The only complaint was the very top of the turkey was a little dry. Next time I make this I think I'll leave just a little of the skin on to keep it moist. This smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I made a lot of changes but this turned out beautifully. I added thyme and rosemary and omitted bacon, flour and worc. sauce. I added pats of butter on the bird. We got turkey breasts on sale (grocery store grand opening) for 39 cents a pound. I see a lot of turkey in our future! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States