Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was awesome!!! My boyfriend loves the whole Thanksgiving dinner...year round. And I wowed him the other night with this recipe. I did not cook it for 8 hours on low. It was closer to 6 hours on low and it was so juicy! I want to buy more crock pots and make this for the real Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was really excellent! Everyone in my house enjoyed it. I used 14.5 oz can of gravy to compensate for the fact that the turkey breast I found was more like six lbs. I seasoned the meat before putting it in the crockpot with a bit of salt along with the garlic. At the end, my daughter's friend wistfully wanted gravy. So I took out the turkey and sliced it up and added a couple tablespoons of corn starch to the crockpot (pulled out some of the hot broth, mixed it with the corn starch, added back to crock and stirred). Cooked this on high for about 20-30 min. Perfect! Really this is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made this today using a 9 lb bone in turkey breast. It was still partially frozen when I put it in the pot, so the lid didn't fit. Covered the pot with tin foil for the first hour until it cooked down enough to use the lid. I doubled all of the other ingredients since the meat was almost twice the size recommended...used the gravy packet that came with the turkey breast and also a jar from the store. I omitted the bacon - didn't have any. I didn't miss it. I also didn't have garlic pepper, so I used half black pepper and half garlic powder, which worked well. Cooked it on low for 8 hours, then let it sit on the warm setting for about an hour until I finished up the sides. I served it with stuffing, jelled cranberries, mashed potatoes, corn and crescent rolls. I drained the gravy and juice from the pot after I took the turkey out (turkey literally fell apart) and whipped up a thick gravy on the stove by adding a few tablespoons of cornstarch. Also used a slow cooker liner and there is virtually NO cleanup. This is a good recipe. Not sure I would replace the regular oven turkey with this at Thanksgiving, but it is a good recipe for other times of the year when you are in the mood for turkey. Both my 2 and 4 year olds ate it right up. Looking forward to making something with the leftovers for the next couple of nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We only use the gravy mix and poultry seasoning, skipping the rest of the ingredients. I hate people who review a recipe and do that, but I thought the recipe itself was great for suggesting a cooking method that I never would have thought about trying so giving it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Got rave reviews from some picky eaters! I think the bacon made it stand out from the other slow cooker recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is the best turkey I've EVER eaten. I have never made Thanksgiving turkey before so this was a good rookie recipe. It came out moist and delicious. Now we have to decide whether we preferred the turkey that night or the next day on our sandwiches with cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
brilliant! did the Christmas Turkey (a whole 4kg bird) this way I did slightly overcook it by leaving it for 12 hours. As I didn't have any gravy I just poured water on it - just make sure water isn't more than till half of the crock pot, because as the turkey cooks it will let out more succulent juices and might overflow (mine came awefully close). After it was done, I added cornflour to the juices and made a lovely gravy and put the turkey under the grill for 15 mins to crispen the skin. I had loads of compliments on how tender, crispy and flavourful the turkey was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Tasted great. Will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
What a simply wonderful recipe for turkey. I used a 6lb bones-in turkey breast & it was so moist and flavorful. How easy is this? I prepared exactly as written with small exceptions, used garlic powder and black cracked pepper, and only three bacon strips, and skipped the flour. Started on high for about an hour or so since the bird was cold, and finished another 7 on low. I ran the gravy through a seive into a pan, got the gravy simmering, and whisked in a slurry of flour/water to thinken. Delicious and a definite do-over, for sure! Thanks Eating Indy, I'll use this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States