Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe as such but my turkey was very watery. I will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I tried this turkey for the first time this past weekend, but after carefully reading the reviews, I altered this recipie slightly as well to suit my tastes. I had no garlic pepper, but instead added rosemary and thyme in equal parts to the sage. I used a jar of store bought gravy, but also thinned it out with some water and left over chicken broth. This left a TON of liquids for gravy afterwards, which is great, because my family puts gravy on everything on their turkey plates. Just a little roux in a pan and instant gravy goodness. I also sort of arranged the turkey breast on its side, so I flipped it about half way through to ensure both breasts cooked in liquid for a while. The result was fantastic. I had friends over and received nothing but rave reviews at the dinner table! I enjoyed the bacon and worcestershire sauce, it wasn't overwhelming at all since I thinned the liquids, but it did add a nice touch. I will definitely be using this recipie again as the winter months approach, such a fantastic cold night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate GR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I was so disappointed with this recipe. I was looking forward to coming home to a house smelling of turkey and having a delicious meal. I came home to a house smelling not much like turkey--more like bacon. I followed the recipe with minor changes: I did not use garlic pepper, but substituted garlic powder and I used a slightly smaller turkey breast, but added 2 turkey thighs with the skin removed. My turkey was very dry, despite having put a small bit of turkey skin on top, as one reviewer suggested. The turkey just didn't taste good to me at all. I'm not sure what I did wrong, although I've never used canned gravy before and I wasn't really impressed with it coming out of the can. My turkey had a bacon-y flavor even though I used only the 5 slices the recipe called for. My daughter and I wouldn't eat more than a few bites. My son ate a bit more, although he wasn't happy with it. The only saving grace is that my husband finished it off. He thought it was ok, but wasn't overly impressed, and although he ate it, agreed that this is one I shouldn't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
A little bland -- add more sage, and maybe some rosemary next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was pretty good. For some reason I didn't like the bacon taste with the turkey?! Anyway I may try this again with a few adjustments like no bacon and adding carrots, onion and celery to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Skipped the sage and it was great! It would be great to use the meat in a soup. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginnerchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Made with 4 bone-in chicken breasts (I kept the skin on the chicken, and I browned it slightly in a frying pan for some color before putting it in the slow cooker). I used a dry packet mix of roasted chicken gravy (whisked with water according to packet directions). I omitted the bacon, and I used just a couple of dashes of Worcestershire & a light sprinkle of ground sage, garlic powder, & fresh ground black pepper. Cooked in slow cooker on low for 6 1/2 hours. After removing the cooked chicken, I made gravy by straining all liquid from the slow cooker into a saucepan. I then added a couple of spoonfuls of flour and whisked on the stove top until slightly thickened. The results were amazing! The chicken was very moist & tender. Just a note: I placed the chicken bone-side-down in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liammom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I omitted the bacon. I cooked for 6 hours on low. The flavor was decent, but it was dry. I should have read reviews about adding chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
It was okay. Didn't really have that Thanksgiving Turkey homemade taste. It kind of reminded me of Turkey you'd get from a cheap sandwich shop. Tender, yes, but flavor wise, I'd rather spend the time and do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza7298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States