Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I like the concept of making a turkey breast in a slow cooker, so I gave it a try. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and when I checked the internal temperature, it was done. I held it on warm for an hour and it was still very moist. Next time I will cook it at the lower setting and check it after 4 hours. I did not have turkey gravy, so substituted a 1/2 cup of stock. When the turkey was done, the slow cooker yielded about 4 cups of liquid. Plenty of juice for gravy. I did use the bacon; in the end did not affect the flavor of the turkey much, but made the gravy liquid a bit too smoky and overwhelmed the turkey flavor. I will not use the bacon again. All in all, this is a good basic recipe. I'd definitely experiment with more fresh herbs and spices next time, while omitting the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Not bad if you are just looking to set and forget. I would have liked the gravy/juice to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I absolutely fell in love with this recipe, as did my fiance! I have made it a few times now. I add some of the grease from the bacon into the sauce, as well as additional spices - poultry seasoning, margarom, thyme, salt, pepper & garlic. I've never had turkey so juicy! You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Awesome turkey. So easy to throw in the crock pot the night before and have a mock thanksgiving dinner ready when you get home. My husband threw in a can of turkey broth when I wasnt there and it actually made the turkey lose some of its moisture (I've noticed the slow cooker with chicken and to much liquid does that too) Next time I will be sure to do it when he's no where around. The meat was fall off the bone tender and I wont hesitate to use this recipe again. My boys just gobbled it up, no pun intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Unbelievavble recipe. I recomend extra sage, garlic and pepper, but it was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Wow! This turkey is great! I was looking for a slow cooked turkey recipe and this is good. I will def make this more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carebear05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
An excellent way to fix the Thanksgiving Turkey the EASY way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Made this last night. It was very easy to make and delicious! I substituted skim milk for whole milk to cut down on some of the fat, and no one was the wiser. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This may be one of the best recipes to date! I made it pretty much to speck with the exception of exact measurements - I'm a "little bit of this and a little bit of that" kind of girl. =-) Next time I think I'll throw in an apple and a sweet onion, just to add in some sweetness - but that's just how our family likes it - honestly - this recipe is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colorado Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Wow, what a very tender turkey! Mine was 4.75 pounds and was done in 6 hours. I did it the night before so it was ready to put in the slow cooker. Three of us ate this and none of us could taste the bacon (I used 4 pieces) or the Worcestershire Sauce. As most reviewers, I used the gravy packet that came with the turkey and a jar of turkey gravy. The taste and texture was phenomenal. Can't wait to see how it taste on a sandwich tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States