Slow Cooker Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We love turkey and have it 3 or 4 times during the cold months, I taper off from June to November so we appreciate it again at Thanksgiving. I will fix this again BUT never at Thanksgiving because this is a time for a truly traditional roasted turkey with crispy skin and with all the trimmings. I can understand why this dish is so popular with younger women who work. The taste was wonderful. I used it as I would left overs when I do my traditional version......it's rather a "gloppy mess" but since it tasted so good it's also good for "leftover" dishes. I prepared this following the recipe as described but (sorry) I did omit the bacon, I only like that in a tomato, turkey and bacon sandwich. :-) I gave it a good rating because I didn't want my personal preferences to drag down the rating just because I wanted to express my opinion of it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have made this twice so far and each time is more delicious than the last! I bought a turkey yesterday with this in mind (craving it!). I added some chicken brother to the crock pot at the start and again halfway through to make sure it stays moist. I also leave the skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved it - needed to dial back cooking time and add a bit of turkey/chicken stock so that it doesn't get too dry - but results in fantastic turkey and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. Could easily be made for Thanksgiving dinner. I couldn't find a 5 1/2pd turkey so I used 7 and cooked it 9 hours. Could've probably went 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Wow! This was so good. As with others, I also adapted my own recipe. I chopped up onion and 2 ribs of celery and cooked it in butter in a skillet until aromatic. Then I added the onion and celery to crock pot with 3 cups of chicken stock, a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, bunch of fresh thyme . I put the breast skin side up, sprinkled with season salt (I use "Crazy Salt") and finally I lay 5 pieces of bacon on top. (Skin and bacon got discarded when turkey was cooked through. It took about 6 hours on high (approx. 8 lb breast). It makes the turkey very flavorful and the juice it cooks in makes really delicious gravy. For the gravy, I took 1/2 cup of butter in skillet over medium heat and slowly added 1/2 cup of flour and seasoned with cracked pepper. To that I added 4 cups of the reserved cooking juice and whisked ountil thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this with a fully cooked turkey breast and it turned out awesome! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe every year for several years now and have LOVED it more than any other turkey! Very moist! I have never made it quite the same as this recipe though. I don't like bacon so have never included that. I usually use the included turkey gravy packet that comes with the turkey breast instead of a can of turkey gravy. I have never skinned the turkey breast, but just usually rub a good amount of the seasonings under the skin. It might be a bit dryer if you skinned the turkey, but I might try it this year as it would be a bit healthier that way. The sage and Worcestershire sauce do make an excellent flavor! When it was time for making gravy, I use the drippings out of the crockpot and it makes for an excellent flavorful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Quick, easy and oh so good! My family says they prefer this over the oven roasted turkey. So it leaves alot more oven space for other goodies. I followed the other suggestions of adding a little extra turkey broth half way thru cooking time. I dont think I'll be making another turkey breast in the oven again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
BEST TURKEY I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE. SO MOIST AND TASTY! AND SO EASY TO MAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States