Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I made this for family and neighbours. Everyone loved it, I got to many compliments. This will be my go to recipe for pulled pork. I used a 6lb pork loin. I used 1.5x for the rest of the ingredients. Garlic I used 3x. It is highly rated for a reason. Great recipe - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
My family loved it. I used pork tenderloin to decrease fat content. Have made it twice and successful both times! Have recommended to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I can't give it 5 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I omitted the chicken broth and veg oil as my roast had plenty of fat on it for moisture. I feel the thyme would taste off in this so I left it out. I did add chicken bullion for flavor. I added a pint of my homemade BBQ sauce and left out the onion as I was out. It cooked on high for about 5 hours, then on low for another 5. For the last hour of cooking I removed the roast, shredded it with two forks, skimmed the fat from the top on the liquid in the pot and then put the shredded pork back into the liquid. I added a touch of store bought BBQ sauce and let the flavored meld for an other hour. Served on homemade buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlind
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
This by far has been the best pulled pork. I didn't add barbecue sauce because my husband doesn't like it and it was perfect even without it. Will be making this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
added liquid smoke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I just did a few things differently for personal preference only. I put the chili powder directly on the roast, eliminated the thyme (don't like thyme) and increased the vinegar for a more Carolina-like taste. Otherwise, followed the directions and it turned out fabulous. Will be doing this again - with an 8-lb. loin roast - in a few days to take on vacation to Lake Placid. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Wow, this turned out delicious! A few ingredients I didn't add - personal taste, but did add in about a tsp of liquid smoke. I love that you can change the ingredients in the sauce a little to your liking and it still turns out great. It was a hit for our family. I was surprised how inexpensive pork shoulder is too. I used a 3lb roast, that's what the meat counter had, and just decreased the sauce a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I'm currently away at training, so I having to learn how to cook. Needless to say, I miss my wife's awesome kitchen talent! I made this in my 2qt crock pot and followed the recipe exact, but cut the ingredients straight in half. It came out amazing and the guys loved it. I will be making this again, especially when I get home and cook for my family (for once!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I loved the flavor of this pork. I think the thyme made the difference. Didn't try liquid smoke but that would probably make it even better. Too much liquid though. I was afraid to remove liquid because of the awesome flavor. Agree that the veg oil is not necessary. May try without chicken broth and cookin it longer. The combo of spices and flavor so was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kezza
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This is a really good recipe. I have a small 3.5 L crock pot. Used 2 smallish roasts (about 1 kg each). Cooked it on low overnight for 12 hrs. The meat just fell apart when I took it out to shred. The recipe does make quite a bit of liquid, but I think all the ingredients should be used to get the right flavour. I thickened the liquid a bit with 1 TBLSP of corn starch and then poured about 1/2 of it over the meat when I returned the meat to the crockpot for a couple of hours. Very good - I should have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States