Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is a good and easy dish, but my kids thought it was too spicy. I would make sure to use a mild salsa next time. Instead of the taco seasoning packet, I used Taco Seasoning I recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Pretty good as is and worth making, as it is so convenient to just dump it in the crockpot and let it go. Didn't even have to stir it. Personally, I will add some black beans and serve it with rice over a bed of crushed corn chips, adding some sour cream and lettuce. Would also be good mixed with rice and wrapped up burrito style. CAUTION: will burn to your pot around the edges. Would be good to spray it with some cooking spray or use the disposable liners! That was the hardest part of the recipe, cleaning the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Sue Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Good. Added a can of corn (drained) instead of frozen as well as a can of black beans. Served over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I added an entire package of low sodium taco seasoning. I'm not sure if this is more/less than the 2T that is called for. I thought it came out great and my husband and I enjoyed it. I usually don't like the taste of chicken in a crock pot...sort of has a metallic type flavor to it...but not with this recipe, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I kept to the recipe, mostly, with the exception that I added a can of black beans. This was the first time I used my slow cooker and everyone from my husband to my mom loved it. Probably wouldn't double it again but will definitely make again for sure. Another reviewer mentioned doing this on the stove top and I will proably do that next time as it's just a matter of the meat cooking. Plus I think that browning the chicken first will keep it more moist. A keep though, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Van Markwyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
We make this all the time! I usually end up needing more salsa, but I cook it slightly different. I saute the chicken in a skillet, set it aside, then saute an onion and the peppers and add the chicken back to the pan. Then add the salsa and simmer covered for a little while. I usually forget to add the corn - but I try to add canned corn when we're getting ready to eat. I've served this as a taco salad (over lettuce and tostitos) and over rice. My 2 year old loves it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Easy ! I used a can of Southwest corn (corn, blk beans, red peppers). Just pour the whole taco seasoning packet in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I love this recipe!! I tweaked the recipe a bit by adding mushrooms and canned corn instead of frozen. I also used hot taco seasoning to make it more spicy. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ammisias

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I am making this for Cinco de Mayo tonight. But because of an idea I have had I am making a few changes. If you have access to Papalotte Salsa use it. (It can sometimes be found at Whole Foods) It has a delicious creamy texture/flavor with a good amount of Spice. I am cutting back on the amount of taco seasoning so it won't interfere with the mouth watering salsa. One small onion will go in with the chicken at the beginning and I will put the peppers in about one to two hours before it is done. Plus a bit of sour cream in the last hour. I will serve with corn tortillas and avocado. Otherwise, as is, this is a quick and easy recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
My family (full of picky eaters) LOVED this! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States