Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
What a great recipe - The meat fell apart it was so tender and the gravy was delicious. I doubled the recipe for mushroom soup - 2 cans and 1 cup water (Not onion soup mix)and added a stalk of chopped celery and sliced fresh mushrooms.Also instead of water you can add 1 can of LOW Sodium beef broth. Cooked it on high for 5 hours, adding the carrots(small bag of baby carrots) and potatoes for the last 2 hours. I made fresh bread to suck up the gravy. YUMMY!!!.Thank you for sharing this recipe Katy. I just want to add that I smushed my potatoes before taking the photo - I was so hungry from the smell I almost forgot to take the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I have made a basic recipe of beef, onion soup mix, and cream of mushroom soup for years. NEVER THOUGHT of adding the potatoes and carrots......THIS BROUGHT THE DISH TO LIFE!!!! A small suggestion for those that prefer a more "beefy" version of the gravy is to add a package of beef gravy along with a cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2000
Excellent flavor! I prepared it the night before, refrogerated it in the crockpot and turned in on before going to work. It was ready when I got home! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Really Good!! I browned the meat first and deglazed the pan with 1C water. I added that water to the soup mixes, cut the onion into quarters and I could have added more of them (but I had read that others thought the onion flavor was too much) I also added and a few stalks of celery cooked it on high for 6 hrs and it was perfectly done. I will make this again the family loved it and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
The potatoes got mushy from being in the slow cooker all day and it turned into more of a stew. I think next time I'll add the veggies later on. But the steaks were very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This was really good!! It only needs a small amount of water, maybe 1/4 cup, to keep the gravy from being too watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
followed reciped (except cut meat into strips and used baby carrots). My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I browned the meat first and added some spices for flavor...however, after cooking on low for 8 hours it still came out pretty tasteless and the meat was tough. Also, the potatoes were still hard after the 8 hours. I don't know what I did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I did not like this at all. For some reason this was quite bland. My husband liked it though. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This was a very easy recipe. It turned out great- made a nice gravy to go with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States