Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The only thing I do different is substitute the potatoes with celery, only because I do not like the way potatoes cook in a crockpot. Otherwise this is a very good crockpot meal. The meat is nice and tender, not to mention the heavenly aroma. I serve mine with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
this would be a 5 star but for one error on recipe. Don't put potatoes and carrots in until the last 3-4 hours. I use the dry beefy onion soup mix when I make this. If I don't have that, I use regular dry onion with beef broth instead of water. I sear the beef before starting in a bit of garlic oil. Not required but keeps the beef flavor full. I also put a dash of worchestershire sauce in. This also works with a pot roast (chuck). Just add an extra can of mushroom soup. If you like your vegetables a bit more al dente, steam them to desired and ad to pot and serve. If you like wine in your sauces then use red like merlot instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is how I have made pot roast for years, except I use beef broth instead of water, and I do occasionally add beef gravy to the mix. So good! And then, use the leftovers for soup--even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My mother-in-law made this for years using fresh onion and tomato soup - meat is incredibly tender! Still one of my husbands fav meals with mashed potato's and rolls for dipping into the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I lightly browned the steak with a few tablespoons of water and used the broth to make a "test" gravy with the C of M soup and the dry soup. I did find it rather bland and substituted an Italian dressing mix for the onion soup mix. I also used apples instead of carrots and that turned out really well, though I might add them 2/3 of the way through cooking the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this for my very picky kids and they loved it! Did not use carrots and added 3 extra potatoes, 1/4 cup more water, and kept eveything else the same. potatoes were not mushy like others said they came out perfect. Nothing was left over will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
yum. added some thickner to the broth to make gravy. good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McMillion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wapella, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was simple and had a great flavor. The meat came out very tender. Only changes I made were sprinkling garlic salt over the meat before cooking and including sliced fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Okay, so hubby and I weren't impressed by this recipe, but it wasn't bad either. We both felt like it was missing something, but we weren't quite sure what that was. I did add fresh mushrooms that I halved, and some minced garlic. I'll probably make this again if I have round steaks that need used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
No surprises here. This was a good, basic, meat and veggie slow cooker dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States