Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe works great with small pearl tapioca. There is a difference in tapiocas that are in the store. A minute tapioca has been ground to quickly absord liquid (looks like large grits). The pearl tapioca requires soaking usually overnight and looks just tiny pearls. This recipe is for tapioca that requires soaking and greatly speeds up the process of cooking this type of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
434 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I make a double-batch of this at least once every month, and everyone in my family (7 of us) loves it. My 92 yr old Grandma even complimented it while she was here. Unlike the other reviewers, I actually prefer the large pearl tapioca vs the smaller ones. I like mine to be rich and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
What an easy way to get fabulous pudding! Don't be alarmed by the review that said this recipe doesn't turn out. Just make sure that you have a fresh bag of tapioca pearls (old ones won't gel the pudding). I got mine from an Indian store that seemed to have huge turnover of tapioca. No problems! We will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love Tapioca Pudding, but, I don't make it very often as it does take watching over. I am glad to say that is not the case anymore. I will make this pudding-doubled-alot from now on. Easy to do, just measure and put it in crockpot. I took some other reviewers advice and added some vanilla and salt, doubled the recipe and cooked it on high for 3 hrs. Came out perfecto. My only advice would be to break up the eggs, prior to putting in crockpot, don't just drop them in there and then wonder why it doesn't come out right. You need to break them up. Also, be sure to stir during cooking, it helps to keep everything mixed up. So, that you don't end up with layers of eggs, tapioca, etc. Otherwise--just enjoy eating this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I looked this up because the country I'm in doesn't have minute tapioca in a box. This was perfect! No changes, except that I added a tsp. of vanilla. Just a few notes: a) You must use small pearl; b) if you want to cut cooking time, soak the pearls in 1 cup of the milk overnight; c) if you don't have a slow cooker, it's perfectly OK as it cooks in regular pot in 30 minutes over medium to med-high heat. Sets beautifully, tastes wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I love Tapioca Pudding! I don't make it very often as it does take watching over. I am glad to say that is not the case anymore! Couldn’t be any easier to make - I will make this pudding-doubled more often from now on. I took some other reviewers advice and added some vanilla and salt, doubled the recipe and cooked it on high for 3 hrs. Came out perfecto. My advice would be to combine the sugar, eggs and tapioca first, then stir in the milk. I stirred the pudding about every 30 minutes, especially when it started to set, make sure to scrape the bottom to break up the clumps of tapioca. Excellent comfort food! Side Note: Experimenting with other extracts is an awesome adventure that was successful every time (about 1 tsp. depending on how strong you want the flavor to stand out.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I will give this 5 stars.I soaked the tapioca pearls over night in the milk. Next morning I added the sugar and eggs. Because I soaked the tapioca it did not need to cook as long. I cooked on high for 1 hour stirring every 20 to 30 minutes to make sure the egg was well blended. Then I turned it down to low and cooked the rest of the way until thick and creamy. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract at the end when the tapioca was done. Put it in serving bowls sprinkled a little nutmeg and we were ready to go. Super easy recipes. A keeper and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I love the old pearl tapioca that my grandmother made and nothing ould be easier or faster than this. I will use nothing but this recipe forever more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I'm not a huge fan of tapioca, but my father-in-law is, and he's never happy with tapioca you can buy prepared. I gave this recipe a shot, becasue it seemed so easy, and not only was it easy, but he loved it. For newbie tapioca makers, be careful to turn off the crockpot when you think the pudding is almost done - if you don't, it'll be overcooked just enough to bother you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
make sure to use small pearl tapioca. all i could find was large pearl, the consistency was too thick. great taste and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States