Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Terri
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Couldn't be easier to make. I added 1/2t pure vanilla and a pinch of salt. Topped with whipped cream and ate it warm...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This did not turn out at all. It looks nothing like the picture, mine looks really gross like the eggs and milk didn't combine, the taste is okay but nobody will eat it. vEry dissapointed to have wasted 4 c of milk on this! I should have followed the slow cooker warning not to use dairy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Our family loves homemade tapioca pudding! We don't make it often b/c it is so time consuming. I made this recipe today, and I think it is great. I doubled the recipe, added 1-2 tsp of pure vanilla, and cooked it on high for 3 hours. Stir about every half an hour or so. Pudding will thicken as it cools. It has a delicious flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I followed the directions perfectly and like "hawaii1" it didn't turn out like the picture at all and the taste wasn't even good. I won't be trying this one again. I will stick to making my tapioca, the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Came out good, but I suggest making sure the eggs, milk, and sugar are well mixed before hand. I did have some parts of the pudding that were clearly just egg. I like the simplicity of this though because tapioca takes so long on the stove and is so easy to burn if you aren't patient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
What an easy way to get fabulous pudding! Don't be alarmed by the review that said this recipe doesn't turn out. Just make sure that you have a fresh bag of tapioca pearls (old ones won't gel the pudding). I got mine from an Indian store that seemed to have huge turnover of tapioca. No problems! We will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love Tapioca Pudding, but, I don't make it very often as it does take watching over. I am glad to say that is not the case anymore. I will make this pudding-doubled-alot from now on. Easy to do, just measure and put it in crockpot. I took some other reviewers advice and added some vanilla and salt, doubled the recipe and cooked it on high for 3 hrs. Came out perfecto. My only advice would be to break up the eggs, prior to putting in crockpot, don't just drop them in there and then wonder why it doesn't come out right. You need to break them up. Also, be sure to stir during cooking, it helps to keep everything mixed up. So, that you don't end up with layers of eggs, tapioca, etc. Otherwise--just enjoy eating this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This worked out very well. With a 5 year old this is the best idea I have found next to buying already made....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe works great with small pearl tapioca. There is a difference in tapiocas that are in the store. A minute tapioca has been ground to quickly absord liquid (looks like large grits). The pearl tapioca requires soaking usually overnight and looks just tiny pearls. This recipe is for tapioca that requires soaking and greatly speeds up the process of cooking this type of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Made this many times Loved it every time. I dislike having to soak the pearls. If I want to make tapioca on a whim, soaking is out. Eggs weren't necessary but did add texture. Using any flavor extracts will greatly improve the taste and can be changed every time you make it (about 1tsp and up to 1T will work). I only have high and low temps on my crockpot so I used high and kept a close eye on it, stirring more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States