Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe works great with small pearl tapioca. There is a difference in tapiocas that are in the store. A minute tapioca has been ground to quickly absord liquid (looks like large grits). The pearl tapioca requires soaking usually overnight and looks just tiny pearls. This recipe is for tapioca that requires soaking and greatly speeds up the process of cooking this type of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love Tapioca Pudding, but, I don't make it very often as it does take watching over. I am glad to say that is not the case anymore. I will make this pudding-doubled-alot from now on. Easy to do, just measure and put it in crockpot. I took some other reviewers advice and added some vanilla and salt, doubled the recipe and cooked it on high for 3 hrs. Came out perfecto. My only advice would be to break up the eggs, prior to putting in crockpot, don't just drop them in there and then wonder why it doesn't come out right. You need to break them up. Also, be sure to stir during cooking, it helps to keep everything mixed up. So, that you don't end up with layers of eggs, tapioca, etc. Otherwise--just enjoy eating this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Made this many times Loved it every time. I dislike having to soak the pearls. If I want to make tapioca on a whim, soaking is out. Eggs weren't necessary but did add texture. Using any flavor extracts will greatly improve the taste and can be changed every time you make it (about 1tsp and up to 1T will work). I only have high and low temps on my crockpot so I used high and kept a close eye on it, stirring more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
What an easy way to get fabulous pudding! Don't be alarmed by the review that said this recipe doesn't turn out. Just make sure that you have a fresh bag of tapioca pearls (old ones won't gel the pudding). I got mine from an Indian store that seemed to have huge turnover of tapioca. No problems! We will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I make a double-batch of this at least once every month, and everyone in my family (7 of us) loves it. My 92 yr old Grandma even complimented it while she was here. Unlike the other reviewers, I actually prefer the large pearl tapioca vs the smaller ones. I like mine to be rich and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I looked this up because the country I'm in doesn't have minute tapioca in a box. This was perfect! No changes, except that I added a tsp. of vanilla. Just a few notes: a) You must use small pearl; b) if you want to cut cooking time, soak the pearls in 1 cup of the milk overnight; c) if you don't have a slow cooker, it's perfectly OK as it cooks in regular pot in 30 minutes over medium to med-high heat. Sets beautifully, tastes wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Came out good, but I suggest making sure the eggs, milk, and sugar are well mixed before hand. I did have some parts of the pudding that were clearly just egg. I like the simplicity of this though because tapioca takes so long on the stove and is so easy to burn if you aren't patient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Couldn't be easier to make. I added 1/2t pure vanilla and a pinch of salt. Topped with whipped cream and ate it warm...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Our family loves homemade tapioca pudding! We don't make it often b/c it is so time consuming. I made this recipe today, and I think it is great. I doubled the recipe, added 1-2 tsp of pure vanilla, and cooked it on high for 3 hours. Stir about every half an hour or so. Pudding will thicken as it cools. It has a delicious flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Oh, this is good! Thanks for the recipe. I am not patient enough to make tapioca on the stove, so this is perfect for me. I did add vanilla and salt, and this recipe does need stirring. Have to stir it before turning on the crock pot, then while its cooking. I put it on low and set the timer for every hour to stir. Was done in about 3 hours, as I could only find quick tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States