Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I've tried this twice now. I used "instant" tapioca by mistake the first time which is my fault. I didn't know there was a difference. The second time, I used the small pearl tapioca and is was a disaster too. It was taste-less, looked burned, and was very lumpy. I measured the exact ingredients, and cooked it on low for 6 hours exactly. I'm taking the recipe back to the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
HEALTHIER VERSION (I doubled the recipe): 5c Non-Fat Milk fresh 3c Non-Fat evaporated canned milk [2 (12oz cans)] 2/3c white sugar 2/3c "Stevia in the Raw" 1c small pearl tapioca 2 large eggs 4 egg whites 1T vanilla extract Start with only the milk, white sugar and tapioca, after 2 hours beat all the eggs well, and add a cup of the hot liquid to temper the liquid and then slowly pour into the crockpot stirring continuously. When you turn it off (iI only cooked it for 3 hours on High and it worked just fine) add the Stevia in the Raw and the vanilla extract, as it cools it will thicken, this is the hardest part.. TIP: Use a kitchen timer and set it for 30 min, every time it goes off giver the pudding a stir, and reset the timer for 30 min. This worked really well. I have made it the traditional way for years but given the change in cooking, I am able to make it more often and with the changes I made it is much healthier with no difference in taste or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Too much liquid. I am going to try a little more tapioca (3/4 c) and sugar (1c) or less milk (3 1/2). It was done at 3hrs on low in my slow cooker. Over all I liked it I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckygunnells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My family loves tapioca so I was excited to see a recipe that can be done in the slow cooker. I made it the other day and it was really nice. I did add a tsp. of pure vanilla essence. What I want to comment on is that the eggs did curdle a bit. So next time I make it I will add the eggs during the last hour of cooking. Otherwise, a very good recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This did not work for me AT ALL. I doubled the recipe (because I love tapioca) and even soaked the pearls overnight. It has taken forever to cook and is completely curdled. I won't be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I'm giving this five stars (for the end result), even though I totally abandoned the crockpot method. There's NO NEED! It was done after less than a half hour (of, yes, constant stirring) on the stove top . I used large-pearl tapioca, which I soaked overnight in half the milk. At the suggestion of other reviewers, I added salt (one teaspoon in a doubled recipe) and vanilla (two teaspoons). Good stuff ... and without the delay of slow-cooking (which requires some attention anyway, so can't be unattended...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was pretty good, but I find it easier to make in a pot on the stove rather than the slow cooker. I found I had to stir it just as much, and it really stuck to the sides alot. A few changes I made that worked great: I made it with Almond Milk and added 1tsp of vanilla. I mixed the eggs up really well before adding them. I would recommend trying the almond milk again, but I would add less sugar next time. It was quite sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Perfect! With the addition of vanilla at the end and with stirring many times, this is my new go to tapioca recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Let me start by saying this recipe is as easy as it gets and I love that! I so wanted to love this recipe too with all the rave reviews it's gotten. However I just didn't. Don't get me wrong it's not bad at all. For me the consistency was just off. I feel like it tasted and felt a bit eggy. I realize that probably sounds weird but that's the best way I can describe it. It just had a texture that didn't seem quite right to me. However with the addition of some vanilla and salt like other reviewers suggested the pudding came pretty close to taking care of my craving for tapioca. I think maybe it's just been so long since I've had homemade that maybe I've just forgotten how the taste and texture really should be? So all in all this is a keeper. I will try to make it again and see if I have the same issues with the texture the next time. Thanks for a great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very disappointing! This was a total waste of a quart of milk! I literally gagged when I tasted it. The texture was disgusting. I had it on low and stirred occasionally as the directions said. Perhaps, I was supposed to use whole milk instead of 2%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States