Slow Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I do not usually comment on recipes but I absolutely had to for this one. I have recently become obsessed with tapioca pudding and I have always been obsessed with my slow cooker. I tried both Minute Tapioca using the recipe on the box (came out watery) and then switched to trying Bob's Red Mill small pearl tapioca (recipe given on that bag was very laborious and not worth the effort - also came out watery). I was wondering how to get the thick, creamy tapioca pudding I saw everywhere! Finally I decided to see if I could make it in the slow cooker, which brings me to this recipe. It is PERFECT!!!!!! Here is exactly how I did this recipe which resulted in perfection: 3.5 cups of almond milk, .5 cup of heavy cream, .5 cup of sugar plus 2 packets of stevia, 1/2 cup Bob's Red Mill small pearl tapioca, 2 eggs, 1tsp vanilla. I dumped the sugar/stevia and tapioca into the crock pot. In a bowl I beat the eggs for about a minute and then added the liquids in and whisked those together for 30 seconds. I then add the liquid mixture to the crock pot and whisked that all together for about a minute. I then put on high and gave it a stir, scraping down the sides every 30 minutes. 2 hours in it had thickened up substantially and before 2.5 hours had passed it was incredibly thick and creamy. I then added the vanilla, stirred, and put in the fridge to cool overnight. I am now eating it for breakfast and I can't imagine how it could be more perfect. I will never ever use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
While this is an easy recipe, it can also be tricky. First, I think it is essential to add some flavoring to this dish. I add a teaspoon of Mexican vanilla extract during the last half hour of cooking. Also, for those having trouble with the egg part of this dish, tempering is the answer. One hour before your pudding is done, whisk your eggs in a medium bowl, then slowly add a bit of the hot tapioca mixture to the eggs, stirring constantly. Go SLOW. Keep stirring and adding more of the hot mixture to the eggs until they are quite warm, then add to the crock pot and stir thoroughly. Stir again 30 minutes later (and add the vanilla extract). Cook another 30 minutes or so, and voila - delicious tapioca pudding, perfectly cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Very good concept. I love not having to presoak the pearls. I cooked on low for six hours, added salt, vanilla, and rum flavoring. I 1 1/2 the recipe. Taste was fabulous, but just didn't like the eggs bits in there ( note I attempted to avoid this by mixing all the ingredients thoroughly beforehand). Next time I'll leave out the eggs at first, then temper them in at the end to prevent the bits. Can be a richer pudding by using half n half instead of milk :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Can't believe how quick and easy this was...put it in the crockpot at 5 and had pudding about 8. Beats letting the tapioca soak overnight plus all the extra steps and ingredients. Tasted great too! The only thing I added was about a teaspoon of vanilla. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I just made this and it tuned out great!!! Only took about 2 hrs in the crock pot that I used. I also stuck a vanilla bean in the mix while it cooked. Very good. I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Good basic recipe. I used the large pearl tapioca, because that is what I prefer, and I chose to soak it first, thinking there was no way the large ones would be cooked if i did not. However, next time I won't soak, or won't for very long. They lost some of that chewy consistency that I love, and the pudding was a little runnier than I like because i was afraid if I cooked it longer the tapioca would totally dissolve. Made a double batch, cut the sugar to a scant 1/2 cup per batch and stirred a handful of dark chocloate chips into half for my chocoholic family. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Easy Peasy.....and very comforting! Mix very well @ start and don't forget to stir every hour or so. Stir in handful of chocolate chips for Chocolate tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Delish! For those having trouble with the eggs, just leave them out! My crock pot cooks very hot, so I have to leave them out or I get a very scrambled egg tasting pudding. I might try it again and add the eggs at the end with the crock pot on the "keep warm" setting and see if that is cool enough as opposed to low. KEY: check every hour at first, then check every 30 minutes closer to the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was so EASY to make and tasted very good. Thank you! I did stir once every hour so it wouldn't stick, and I might add a little more sugar next time, but my husband loved it. It was nice not to have to stand at the stove and stir, stir, stir....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Maybe I over cooked it. Was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States