Slow Cooker Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The flavor was good but it was really dry. After 4 hours on low the edges started burning. Don't think I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
So easy and delicious!!! Served with sour cream, grated cheddar cheese, chopped tomato, green onion & black olives...YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I make tamale pie all the time. This recipe needs a Tbsp of Comino, a cup of corn instead of the beans, a large chopped sweet onion, preferably a Vidalea onion. All of these cooked into the meat and corn & onions stirred into the cornbread. Also, use minced garlic instead of powder. This is a Tamale Pie that people will ask for Seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This recipe is a great template. You can add almost any ingredients you'd like to suit your taste. We added corn, tomatoes, diced chilies and olives. We also prefer a homemade cornbread topping, therefore we did not use the boxed option. It really doesn't take much more time to make it homemade. Thanks for this recipe. We loved it and will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
very good. I used chili beans and spices in the meat. Cooked about 3 hours on low in the show cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! Did modify a bit, as others have. Sauteed onion, red bell pepper and half a fresh jalapeno pepper until translucent. Added beef to pot and browned. Added several shakes of Mrs. Dash Spicy. When browned, put beef mixture in crock pot, added a can of medium spicy enchilada sauce and one small can tomato paste. Also added half a bag of frozen corn and a small can of sliced black olives. I used 2 boxes of Jiff cornbread mix, 2 eggs and 2/3 cup of milk mixed, then added 1 cup cheddar cheese. I poured that on top of the beef already in the crock pot and put it on low for 4 hours. When it was done, I topped it with more cheddar cheese and more black olives and then put it under the broiler just to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Lagueux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My husband loves this recipe as well. I add a half to a full can of rotel to it for extra flavor and some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Nothing to making this, great. Have also made this in oven and added blk olives and crime corn. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I found this recipe, & immediately wanted to make it with my own spin. I am a Paramedic & we are never in the station very long so this was a perfect recipe & the guys loved it! I used ground turkey instead of beef , taco seasoning, added a can of black olives, & a can of corn to meat along with the beans. Topped with chopped green onions & sour cream. Thanks we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fascinating recipe. I followed it to the letter and ended up putting some hot sauce on the finished product for some additional zest. I'm not sure if I would make this as is again, it was a smidge bland for me, but this is a really clever base for future things. I didn't know you could make muffin mix in the slow cooker! My only major observation is this had an eerily similar texture to banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States