Slow Cooker Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I really liked this recipe but had to add some additional spices for it to taste like tacos. I used everything as directed and added two packets of Sason. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and then on low for another 5 hours. In the end the soup tasted not only like tacos but had the same flavor as menudo. It was a big hit and a very easy and cheap recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jekka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Love the premise of the recipe, The only one of her ingredients I actually changed is the beans - canned beans skeeve me out so I used dry beans. I also never buy seasoning packets - too much salt. So I put what is usually in one: ground cumin, little salt, pepper, garlic, chili pepper. And I added cilantro and green onions because I really like those. Dry beans to done with a couple hours on high then about 5 hours on low. Took to a potluck, they ate the whole thing, a six quart crockpot full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We loved this recipe! The only changes I made were to delete the water based on other reviews. It turned out great. I served it over tortilla chips and then added grated cheese on top with a little sour cream. When you mix in the cheese and sour cream it really takes it to the next level. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I LOVE this soup! I make it every winter for my Annual Craft Party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe is great! I used all black beans, pureed one of the cans of tomatoes slightly for the kids and added 1 tsp of honey since my corn was frozen with no liquid. For toppings we added cheese, cilantro, avocados. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a good starter for taco soup but I found it lacking some of the "Mexicaness" that makes it taco soup instead of chili. I always mix my taco seasoning with my meat (I prefer ground turkey) because it keeps the taco flavor. I also add a can of black beans, drained, for some additional color. We typically don't put in peppers with the exception of red pepper flakes, because we have a family member that does not like it too spicy. We also drain the corn (which is fiesta style), and the kidney beans but add in the juice of the chili beans for added spice. Then we eat it over a cornbread casserole (2 pks of jiffy mix, 1 can fiesta corn drained, 1 can cream corn not drained and 2 eggs. Mixed together and baked at 350 for 20-30 mins).. garnish the bowl with cheese and the meal is all set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I brown the beef (or turkey) with the taco seasoning together. Use a crockpot liner before adding the ingredients saves cleanup. Since everything is already "cooked", I have also just added it all together in a large pot on the stovetop and served as soon as it was hot. It is an excellent "warm-up" soup with lots of good things in it for you. We also add the tortilla strips and cheese and sour cream dollop for extra flavor. Top with a few chopped scallions for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Easy, delicious, inexpensive. A regular at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This soup was a huge hit! Very flavorful and so easy to make! :) I cooked the onions and taco seasoning pack with the ground beef plus I added some garlic and a can of black beans as suggested by a couple of reviews. Will definitely make it again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made a batch and took it to work. The guys liked it alot. Served with corn chips and crackers. Definite repeat. Good hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cloverdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States