Slow Cooker Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Saw this reicpe and thought I would give it a try. I really like taco soup ever since I had some a friend made and I loved the fact that this was done in a slow cooker. The problem is it didn't taste anything like taco soup. It tasted like a much milder and blander chili. I have to say I was disappointed and so was my husband. Neither one of liked it. To be honest I think this recipe is completely miss labeled and should and instead be called slow cooker chili but even then the recipe would need tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great soup....easy to make. It has become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Another great hearty soup! I through everything into the crockpot, went to work, came home well past the 8 hours and served the soup. Everyone loved it! It is very much like the chilli I make but the sour cream and the cheese made it much more taco-like. My 15 year old son stirred the sour cream and the cheese into the soup and said it made it taste even more like a taco! Definately a 4.5 star rating from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stampspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I made this while I was at work. I browned the hamburger the night before with cumin. The next morning before I headed off, I threw it all in the crock pot. When I got home, I had a wonderful meal waiting! I omitted the chili beans, green chillis, and onion. I simply forgot to add the onion. Instead of chilli beans, I used black beans. I only used one can of the tomatoes and 2 packs of taco seasoning. It was amazing and I will definatly be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I added green salsa to mine. It added spice and more flavor. A whole jar if you want it really spicy and half a jar if you do not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I love this recipe. I use ground turkey and add a packet of ranch dressing. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by femm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Excellent soup. Very easy to make. I have also made Becca's Taco Soup and prefer this recipe - it had more flavor - spice and salt to our liking but both were excellent. I was nervous after reading a review saying this was basically chili. As I put it together, I thought the same thing but after it cooking all day, it was a thinner consistency than chili yet still a chunky/heart soup. Next time I make it, I will omit 1 can of the beans (personal preference -we're not big fans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Great chili recipe, husband loved it. My 3 year old didn't care for it, maybe too spicy. Love how easy it is to make. Should rename this "Slow Cooker Chili". It isnt very Mexican or anything like taco soup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My daughter is vegetarian and likes this soup without the meat. We use black beans and a partial can of chili beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States