Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Need to double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is definitely a keeper! I also doubled the topping ingredients and used fresh yams. I'm going to try it with the canned sweet potatoes for Christmas. Everyone in the family raved about this recipe at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Really easy, everyone said it was yummy (I wouldn't know, I don't like sweet potatoes), and making one less thing that had to go in the oven at Thanksgiving was a blessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent! This was a hit at Thanksgiving. I took the lid off the last 20 minutes to release some of the stem and harden up the brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I was thrilled to see a slow cooker recipe, to free up my oven, for Sweet Potato Casserole! It was Turkey Day for just me and my husband, and he doesn't particularly LIKE sweet potatoes, so I felt free to improvise and omit what I didn't have and what I didn't like! I did NOT use the pecans, or any sugar. In a large bowl, I just mashed the ONE can of sweet potatoes (again, it was just for the 2 of us), added a tablespoon of melted margarine, a tablespoon of orange juice, ONE egg, NO milk, no flour, and sprayed the slow cooker with olive oil to grease. I took a lot of people's advice: Cooked on high for 2 hours, turned to low the 3rd hour, and also at the beginning of the 3rd hour, I covered the entire top of the sweet potatoes with LARGE marshmallows (they melted into the potatoes). What a wonderful flavor! I definitely will make this again! Of COURSE I gave it 5 stars, because I didn't make it as written. (If I had made it EXACTLY as written and THEN didn't like it, I THEN would have decreased the number of stars! How can ANYONE give a recipe less than 5 stars if they don't make it EXACTLY as written??? I am still mystified by that!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James and Nama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was ok. I made it exactly like the recipe except cooked it on low the last 2 hours. Didn't burn or anything. Tasted pretty good, but nothing crazy exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpirrung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this today and it was a HUGE hit. I don't eat sweet potatoes so I am giving this review from 6 people who do and they all said it was 5 stars. The only thing I did different was use fresh sweet potatoes instead of canned; other than that, followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I doubled this recipe and prepared it all the night before. I took it to work, dumped it in the slow cooker and let it go on high for 4 hours. Everyone at worked loved it! The sides didn't burn or get dry at all. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Use of canned sweet potatoes made this grainy. I will try this again in future with my riced baked-the-heck-out-of-em sweet potatoes I normally use for a sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexacon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
GREAT! I made a few changes. I used pineapple juice instead or orange, almond milk instead of moo juice, upped the brown sugar in the sweet potato mixture, and didn't use the eggs at all. Everyone wanted the recipe and i'll make it again soon. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States