Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was looking for a crockpot sweet potato dish because I was going to travel for about 1 hour with the dish in the back of the car, so I needed something that would be done, but that could be kept warm once we arrived at our destination. Decided to try this recipe and it was a hit!! Everyone LOVEd it (even people who normally don't eat sweet potatoes). I used Splenda sugar substitute instead of actual sugar, it turned out GREAT. This is definitely going to be filed under "must-have" for future holiday and dinner gatherings where sweet potatoes are a must. One note was that I cooked mine on high for 3 hours and if it was to cook any longer, it probably would've burned some. Next time I want to try cooking it on low instead, I think that just may make it PERFECT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was a big hit at our Thanksgiving meal! I used all the ingredients as described in the recipe, although I did turn it down to low after it cooked for a couple hours. We thought the sweetness level was just right. Next time I'll double it so we have more leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Like candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
The only change i made was fresh sweet potatoes, but I just didn't think it was that good. Kind of bland. Not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YourLovingWife
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I needed a recipe that is without dairy so I amended this one & it worked wonderfully. I used fresh sweet potatoes (5). I washed, peeled, & chopped them & boiled in a large pot until tender. I then transferred to the mixing bowl and blended with almond milk, brown/white sugar, and butter smart balance. ( I omitted the egg completely, as I was fearful it would cook in the mixing bowl with the steaming hot sweet potatoes). For the topping, I used arrowroot flower and applesauce in place of the butter. (I also doubled the topping amount). It tasted fantastic & when cooked as directed, even got a bit crispy on top. A great way to save oven space! Next time, I may mix the day before to save time and then cook in crock pot the next day. I ended up with a completely vegan dish that was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I wish I could give this 5 stars. The taste was very good, but after cooking on high for 3 1/2 hours, it was very loose. Not runny, but did not set up like I had hoped it would. I was hoping it would be more custard-like. The topping was awesome. I made this to take to a pot luck and I have a LOT left over. Kinda disappointed. Well, at least it tastes good, even if it never set very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva
Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I was so excited when I saw this recipe but I must of done something wrong b/c the result was no where near what the other reviews read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SanKiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Ummm... delicious! My mother has made the same sweet potato casserole for decades, but we had several things on the menu for Christmas and I couldn't fit another thing in the oven. I was somewhat worried about a crockpot casserole, but this was amazing! I followed the advice of others and baked 6 SP on 400 for 75 minutes , then peeled and mashed them instead of using the canned yams. Wouldn't think of going back to canned ever again! Also on the advice of others, I added an extra T of reg & brown sugars and doubled the topping. Set on High for 3 hours and added marshmallows (to half) during the last 45 minutes. Took off the lid for the last 30 min so the topping would harden and the we could hardly wait to eat it! Everyone raved and many went back for thirds! Can't say enough good about it! Thanks for the recipe and the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I'll be making this again. I added about a quarter cup of crushed pineapple. It was delicious but I should've done a better job of draining the pineapple as I had quite a bit of liquid pooling around the casserole. This was also good the next day--hard to stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious and Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States