Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
At first I thought this was going to be a really weird dish but once we tried it it was sooooo good. For those of you who are curious about the taste and look I can tell you that it is not overly sweet, maybe a bit sweeter than sweet potatoes but nothing too drastic. The texture is like a very soft cheesecake. I used natural sweet potatoes (boiled them and then mashed them)and for topping I only sprinkled cinnamon and more brown sugar, enough to cover the mixture with a very thin layer. There was more cinnamon than brown sugar. I ran out of butter for the top but it was amazing. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Made this for Office party first, majority of it was gone. Then made for christmas dinner. Everyone that tried it liked it. I did layer the topping, good idea. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Good side dish, followed recipe exactly as written. It was nice to use slow cooker as oven was tied up with a huge Turkey. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
So easy, does not take up more space in the oven, son in law who does not like sweet potatoes wanted to take home the leftovers. Son said it tastes like a wonderful pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Made on xmas eve. Xmas day put on high for one hour, low for two. Used reynolds liners. wonderful!!! wasn't dry. no burnt sides. Always double topping recipe. Company enjoyed sweets and I was able to enjoy my company. Try the liners they work great. Not just for cleaning, but to keep your potatoes from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
A great alternative to preparing a sweet potato dish in the oven--oven space is so valuable on holidays! These were really good. I'll never bake them in the oven again--always the crockpot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving and I am making it again for Christmas. Instead of using canned sweet potatoes, I cubed and boiled them for 20 minutes. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This got rave reviews at Thanksgving, even from those who don't like sweet potatoes. I used canned and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe is absolutely the BOMB!! What a timesaver, using canned sweet potatoes. Taste just as good as fresh! The one thing I did differently was cook on High for 1 hour, then on low for the remaining 2 hours. Otherwise, you'll end up with a crusty top and side. Be sure to add Marshmallows the last 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I made this with can sweet potatoes and I din't think they were anything special. I then made them with real sweet potatoes and added a little cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. Much better with real potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States