Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving, and liked how I could make this in my slowcooker, which left my oven free for cooking other dishes. I did modify the recipe by using baked, then mashed, sweet potatoes (instead of canned). I think that gave me a little less sugar taste, too. The only thing I would alter is the amount of butter; it seemed to be a tad to buttery for my taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Excellent recipe. Using slow cooker at holidays frees up oven space & your attention span, e.g., one less item to stir/worry about. Used canned sweet potatoes/yams, left out nuts, cut back on butter a little. Everyone enjoyed, even children. Have also made a few days ahead & either reheated in micro or bought to friends as a side dish. If anything, reheating a few days late enhances flavor. Orange juice gives a nice clean undertone flavor to a very simple, easy dish. Unless you're a purist or hate the taste of canned veggies, use the canned yams/potatoes. I've used fresh baked & canned. The slight difference the fresh baked makes is not worth the extra time,effort or trouble in my opinion & I'm a bit biased towards using fresh items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I served this recipe for Thankgiving this year and I would have to say that we all enjoyed it. I only made one change and that was to add 1 and one half cups of mini marshmallows. Also I noticed that in the list of ingredients it mentions 2 tablespoons of butter in the potatoe mix and 2 teaspoons of butter for the topping, while in the directions it says 2 tablespoons of melted butter for the topping. I did use 2 tablespoons in both the potatoe mix and in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
My mother and I have been searching for a recipe to replace the sweet potatoes that my grandmother made (we can never duplicate her recipe to our liking, she was the wiz). This recipe seems to be it - it was VERY delicious. I have a very, very large Westbend slow cooker, so I doubled the topping as one batch wouldn't have reached all potatoes as they spread out (it was worth it, every bite came with the nice sweet topping). I also used the 2T of butter for the potatoes and the topping (silly me, I didn't even notice the teaspoon mistake), skipped the pecans, and made it with fresh potatoes, although with the review below I am tempted to try canned (yuck? I'm VERY anti-canned fruits/veggies, they should be banned). Make this with confidence, it's a guaranteed hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mulva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This is the second year that I have prepared this dish for Christmas. I added minature marshmallows to the mixture before cooking as someone suggested in an earlier post. This dish is always well received by my guests. I must admit that one of my favorite aspects of this dish is the convenience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was delicious. The topping is the best part! I also added mini-marshmallows to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mogadore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Since I'm the only person between me and my sisters who like sweet potatoes, I was chosen to bring them when we made Thanksgiving dinner for our family (my dad's a big fan). I found this recipe, and loved the fact that it was really quick and easy to make. I make use of my slow-cooker as much as possible! I didn't change anything, and it was a big hit! There was almost nothing left for leftovers. I can't wait to see what my new in-laws think of it this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This recipe was one of the ones I made for my son's baptism. It went wonderfully with ham also. I have since made it three more times. It doubles nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I have made this at my past few holiday dinners. This Thanksgiving I doubled the topping just because! Always loved by everyone! A holiday dinner staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATT103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is our new Thanksgiving side dish...it rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States