Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I thought this was very good. It's convenient to cook it in the crockpot and I took the advice of the crock pot liners and I'm glad I did (cleanup so much easier and the potatoes didn't get dry). I also cooked on high for 1 hour then low for ~ 2.5 hours. I doubled the recipe and used eight fresh sweet potatoes, but I think I needed more because it was a litte buttery. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I modified this to use "fresh" sweet potatoes. I baked the potatoes and then mashed them. I also layered some of the topping in the middle of the crock. And I used crockpot liners to keep the potatoes moist and for easier cleanup. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANE MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was fab. I used suggestion of a little cinnamon in the 'topping' and layered it. I beat the potatoes with a mixer, and wish I hand't... they were a little too 'pureed' and didn't maintain the sweet potato texture. Wish I'd thought of that before. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
These are scrumptious! I got rave reviews at a potluck Thanksgiving party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a big hit at the company potluck. I gave it a 4 which means it was really good and would make again. 5's are reserved for a select few that are just to die for. I did make a few changes. I converted to 12 servings. I only added 1/2 the oj and then added about 1 tsp vanilla. For the topping I subsituted quick oats for the pecans. I layered as other posters said, and then the last 30 minutes of cooking added mini marshmellows. So yummy!! Also I cooked on high for 1 1/2 hrs and then on low for an additional 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLKane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Long overdue praise! I made this last Thanks Giving dinner & was totally wowed by it! My borderline diabetic step-dad couldn't leave it alone!! He was craving it as soon as he left our home! I couldn't quit eating it, the topping is scrumptious, it stays crispy and SO good when you just spoon it out & chomp away. It looks wonderful, too! I don't even think I ate more than one slice of (sensational BBQed)turkey & I forwent the pies altogether!!! This was absurdly fantastic! It made a monster out of me! This year, maybe for my step-dad's sake I'll use splenda? for my sake, too, since I just delivered baby #5 a week ago & have a bit of chub to rid... Maybe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Just like the casserole I make in the conventional way, but a great time saver for busy days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I've been looking for a recipe that doesn't add a whole cup of sugar to the potatoes, this is wonderful. I used 1 29 oz can and 3 normal sized potatoes for the recipe, came out great! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I get requests to make this at Thanksgiving potlucks. I just wish it were easier to clean the cooker! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Very good, will definatly make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States