Slow Cooker Sweet Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Easy to make. Very easy to shred the chicken, but there was too much chicken and I only used 5 breasts. I didn't think it was sweet. There was hardly any liquid in the "chili." We had it on torillas. It wasn't spicy enough for us even with my modifications. I followed alot of ideas from other reviewers. I drained and rinsed the beans. I added 2 cans of diced tomatoes (UNdrained). I also added 2 T chili powder, 2 cloves of garlic minced. Next time I would use 3 T of garlic powder and add green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was way too sweet for my liking. I'll stick with a more traditional chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
So easy and tasty! My 16 year old loves this and he is the definition of a picky eater. Making it tonight and added a small can of green chilies instead of bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This recipe smelled and tasted like baked beans. No one in my family liked this meal and I would not make this again. I will have to find another use for the asian chilli black bean sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe shows how different people have different tastes. Everyone in my family LOVED this, but I thought it lacked flavor. Of course their "lovin' it" came AFTER I made some changes at the end of cooking time because of the "something's missing" feeling. Even though I only used 4 chicken breasts, it was very thick (thick enough to put on tortillas -- hmm, that might be something to try next time). I added some salsa I had on hand and some extra water to help this. It also needed more salt. I added sour cream and tortilla chips to mine, but everyone else liked it the way it was. Personally, I prefer the Southwestern White Bean Soup from this site, but the thought of keeping it thick and putting it on tortillas might inspire me to work on the recipe a bit and serve it that way instead of like a stew/chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was okay. Just my preference I guess, but I didnt really care for it. Neither did hubby. Maybe if I could have had it with tortilla chips or rice I would have liked it better. We served it over cornbread as another reviewer suggested. Probably wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
When my crew hears 'chili' for dinner, asian flavors and chicken generally do not come to mind. This chili was ... different, so much so that I would make it again. This trial run, I used only 4 small skinless chicken thighs as they offer more flavor and have less of a tendency to dry out in a slow cooker. I opted to save the beans (drained and rinsed of beany viscosity) for the very last 1/2 hour of cooking, so I used tomato sauce to make up for the lost bean liquid. Aside from those two minor changes, I basically followed the recipe. After the chicken was cooked through, I deboned it and added it back to the braising liquid along with the reserved beans. When it came time to serve, I found the chili had mellowed, which isn't a bad thing, but it was way too mild for my liking... as other reviewers discovered, it needed 'something'. Tempted to add cumin or chili powder, I refrained, adding instead a splash of rice vinegar and a few shakes of red pepper flakes just to wake up the flavors a bit. The cheese didn't seem to fit the dish, so I skipped it and really didn't miss it. This chili is atypical of the usual beef-n-bean variety, but it's worth a go --especially since the meat wasn't the primary focus in this dish. Thanks Cookin' Fool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I didn't have the black bean chili sauce but I did have a jar of black bean and garlic sauce and a jar of Thai chili sauce so I added a tablespoon of each. I thought the sauce needed something, so I added some garlic. We ate the chili with rice. Nice winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I didn't have the asian black bean stuff, so I used hoisin sauce. I added a smidge more brown sugar and vinegar at the end because it seemed to need something. I also put salt and pepper on the chicken while pre-heating the rest of the ingredients to help cut an hour off the recipie. YUMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
If I could give this 10 stars I would! We had this for dinner tonight and the family just demolished it! I didn't have a can of black beans so I only used a can of pinto beans and a can of kidney beans and it still turned out delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written except I sprinkled some dried crushed chili flakes on top. The house smelled soooo good while it was cooking. Thanks for submitting this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States