Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Here is the secret...#1 Use Sweet Baby Ray's HONEY BARBEQUE SAUCE, and you won't need any additional sweetness, #2 Use CRUSHED PINEAPPLE INSTEAD OF CHUNKS, and #3 Use Boneless Chicken Thigh meat or dark meat. I used thigh meat, and chopped into cubes oh and i used the red onions instead of yellow, and i doubled the peppers and added red and orange peppers also and about 5 min before i served it, i added 2 bunches of chopped green onions to the pot and served with chicken fried rice asian sides. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
457 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is a tasty meal however it can not be cooked for 8-9 hours in a slow cooker on the lowest setting, I've burned it twice! It does cook well for 4-6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I was hesitant to make this because of the mixed reviews. The ingredients sounded so good, though, that I decided to give it a chance. I'm very glad I did -- it turned out great. I used four chicken breasts, one bottle of Dave's Fire Pitt BBQ sauce, and a small can of crushed pineapple, as well as the garlic, peppers, and onions. I cut the cooking time down to six hours, which I think is the key to this recipe. The chicken was moist and flavorful, and I served it over rice. My boyfriend loved it as well -- he added some pepperjack cheese on top of his. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
This was so good but I did make some changes: Used a whole chicken, cut in serving pieces and skinned (left the bones in). The dark meat cooked an hour longer (4 hours on hi) than the breasts (a little more than 3 hours on hi). For the sauce, I used About 1 ½ bottles of Sweet Baby Rays Barbecue Sauce, 18 oz each 2/3 of a 18 oz bottle of Sweet and Sour Sauce Bottled Szechwan Sauce to taste, about 3 tablespoons (it’s spicy). In the cuisinart chopped About 7 cloves garlic w about 2 ½ large thumb size pieces of ginger and added to sauce. Used more vegetables than suggested and added carrots to the mix. ½ of the vegetables went into the pot with the dark meat and the other ½, minus the green peppers, went in with the light meat an hour later. The last hour I added the green peppers and about 3 or 4 tablespoons of sugar to taste. About 15 minutes before serving,I added cornstarch mixed with the leftover pineapple juice. It was SO GOOOOOD! If you want to cook on low I would suggest not cooking breast meat more than 6 or 7 hours. I have a Rival Crockpot. THANKS TO ALL THE NOTES AND ADVICE that helped so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
The family asks for this every week! I did make a few change the first time to what I had on hand. Instead of chicken, I used 2 lbs of beef sasuage, 2 16 oz packages of frozen pepper and onion mix. (Our Kroger grocery store carries this in the Kroger brand and it has red, yellow and green peppers with onions.)I also used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. One bottle of the regular and one bottle of the Honey Chipotle - adds a nice kick. I serve it over jasmine rice. I serve this dish 2-3 times a month (the family would like more often!) so its nice to be able to use the sausage as well as the chicken. Thank you for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris7320

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Excellent! I used Sweet Baby Ray's sauce and cut the recipe to 4 breasts, 1 bottle of BBQ sauce, and left the other ingredients as listed. We loved it over rice! Thickened the sauce with cornstarch as other reviewers suggested. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
very good but I drained the pineapple and kept the pineapple in the fridge and chopped the peppers and kept them in the fridge until 1 hr. before the chicken was done. Then added it. It just maintains the pineapple and peppers from getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I used a real thick bbq sauce, but the sauce ended up real thin, so I just added the reserved pineapple juice, a bit water and about 4 T. of flour, and it came out perfect consistency. Next time will use more veggies:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I used pineapple slices instead of the chunks. I used "Bullseye" Brand barbecue sauce. It was delicious! Smelled good while cooking too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This recipe rocks! It has quickly become a favorite at our house. I use Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce and the combo of flavors with the pineapple is even yummier than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States