Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Good, but nothing special. WAY TOO MUCH SAUCE!!!! I would suggest 1 bottle of BBQ instead of 2. I would leave pineapple the same, but drain off the liquid, and I would add carrots and pea pods. It was easy and tasty though..served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Thornell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black Oak, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I have made this twice now when my son had a baseball game and we knew we would be home late for dinner. I did add double bell peppers as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Very easy to make. I cut the recipe down to 4 breats and was told to use 1 bottle of BBQ sauce, it was to much in my opion, so if only doing 4 only half a bottle of BBQ. Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was the very first recipe that I tried in my new crock pot and It's absolutely delicious. I used Honey bbq sauce since I figured that would go best with the flavor of the pineapple. Like the other reviewer said, it definitely does not need to cook for 9 hours. Mine was done after about 5. I also think next time I will drain the pineapple since there was A LOT of liquid left at the end. I had to leave the pepper out since the peppers at the store looked terrible. But it tastes fine just the same!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Totally burned after the recommended 10 hours on low. Not a pleasant thing to come home to after a day of work. I use my crockpot all the time to have dinner waiting after work. This was no longer dinner! Made sandwiches instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! If I could give this more than 5 stars, I certainly would. Followed recipe ingredients as given; simply reduced the amount of chicken by half (4 pieces instead of 8), and used only one bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce, leaving the other ingredient amounts as stated. This is DEFINITELY a keeper. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made this exactly as written and served over rice. Delicious! I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce and crushed pineapple, and cooked on high for three hours. The meat was fall-apart tender. My boyfriend commented that he'd like this better as a sandwich filling, so I think I will add cornstarch some time for a thicker sauce and serve as sandwiches. However, I also think it would be delicious over rice with vegetables such as carrots and peapods added. In that instance I think I would prefer the diced pineapple to crushed, because the pineapple chunks make this more like a sweet and sour dish - which is basically what it is, but with a barbecue flavor. I know I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Hubby and kids loved it. Will be added to the regulars list. Did add flour to the broth to thicken it up. Hubby also suggested maybe adding potatoes for a full meal in the crock pot. Will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Very tasty! Makes way too much sauce. Will cut down on the BBQ sauce next time. Also, 4 hours was plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought this was very good as is. I really didn't change anything except cut the recipe in half. Used my little crock pot and cooked on high about 4 hours. Chicken was tender and the veggies weren't crispy - I had wondered if they would be done. I think the only thing I will change next time is use crushed pineapple instead of chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States