Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Maybe I cooked for too long or used a different BBQ sauce, but the picture looked WAY better than mine... It was edible, but I was hoping for more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was in my inbox today so I decided to give it a shot ... with my few changes based on all the other reviews. I used 4 frozen boneless chicken breasts that I seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and Accent. I mixed a bottle of Kraft Honey Roasted Garlic BBQ sauce, one onion quartered, 3 slices of fresh ginger julienned, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, a pinch of red pepper flakes a tsp of dijon and half the juice of a can of pineapple. I dipped the chicken in this sauce before I poppped into the crock, then poured the remaining sauce over it. I started it on high for about half an hour then reduced to low. I cooked it for about 5 hours total. In the last 30-45 min I added about half the can of pineapple, and nice sized chunks of half each red, green and yellow peppers. I mixed the remaining half can of pineapple juice with 1/2 tbls of cornstarch and added that when I added the vegetables. I served it over rice. My husband and 21 yr old son rated it "have again". My 28 yr old son thought it was ok: didn't love it, didn't hate it ... but had seconds. It had a nice layersof flavorl with a final note of heat. The sauce could have been a tad bit thicker but I was overly cautious with only half can of juice. I was thinking this would be great with orange juice concentrate rather than pineapple juice, (omitting the fruit then too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My husband dislikes chicken (go figure?) so I made this with boneless pork chops - and served it over basmati rice. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Really tasty and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackies Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I really like this recipe, and my husband likes and frequently asks for it. Here's what stops me from making it all the time- after even 4 hrs.- boneless/skinless chicken breast dries out. Also our crock pot is pretty big, meant for large crowds. Instead I use my dutch oven on the stove to cook it up and all the while I watch the time for about an hour and it works wonderful. A great combination of flavors and textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
very good but I drained the pineapple and kept the pineapple in the fridge and chopped the peppers and kept them in the fridge until 1 hr. before the chicken was done. Then added it. It just maintains the pineapple and peppers from getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very good. all enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coldbrook, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Was a bit hesitant after the mixed reviews but this turned out well, good for an easy midweek meal. Husband really enjoyed it and has asked for it again. Only used 2 chicken breasts and 1/4 a bottle of bbq sauce. Added the juice from the can of pineapple and for a little kick some dried chilli flakes. Did not need to thicken with cornstarch, just turned the slowcooker to high and left the lid off for the last hour of cooking and that did the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This chicken was very moist. I did use about 4 lbs of thighs and drum sticks since I needed to use them up. I used a 40 oz bottle of bbq sauce and I believe an 18 or 20 oz bottle would have been enough. It made a LOT of sauce. Otherwise, this is very good. I did cook it for 8 hours and some of my chicken was slightly frozen. Will do this again. Thanks Jan from another Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Too sweet. I rinsed the stew after trying my first plate because 2 bottles of BBQ sauce was way too much. I added one red and one green pepper and one onion. Next time (if there is a next time), I'd add more garlic as well. One bottle of sauce may be enough but the combo of all of the sauce and the sweetness of the pineapple was not good. After eating leftovers for two different meals, I trashed the rest. Would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States