Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this last night for the 1st time and it turned out surprisingly well! SO EASY! I took the advice from others, and used a can of crushed pineapple instead of chunked. I also cooked it about 5-1/2 hrs on high, and the chicken was fine. There was plenty of sauce (which I also thickened) so served it w/mashed potatoes, however next time I will try it with white rice or even egg noodles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
SAVE the sauce!!! We had leftovers and while the chicken was not dry when reheated, having the extra sauce and putting it over rice was a GREAT (and low effort) second meal! Also, your choice of BBQ sauce is key. I used a honey BBQ sauce which was good, but I think you'll want to find something with a relatively milder taste as its easy for "bolder" tasting sauces to overpower the pineapple and dominate the flavor of the chicken. So choose wisely, but this is a recipe SURE to delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
completely overcooked the chicken--7-8 hours on low is TOO LONG...and the taste was just too fake or something. Maybe real pineapple would make it taste more real.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This did not go over well in my family. It had an acidy taste. The only thing I left out was the green pepper because I didn't have any, but I don't think that would have made it a whole lot different. I also think it was too much onion. I will have to tweak it and find a taste that we might like but I will not be making this again in it's current form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This turned out SO WELL! Changes: I used about 25 oz bbq sauce, a can of crushed pineapple, extra (frozen) green pepper, and 3 cloves garlic. The chicken was almost completely thawed so I was able to cook it for 3 or 3.5 hours on high and it turned out perfectly. Serve it with some brown rice - it sops up the juice and tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was pretty good. My kids however did not like it and my husband said it tasted like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Served over rice. Next time might add chipotle peppers and some mixed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this dish over the weekend. My husband liked it a little, I did not. I used the crushed pineapple as read in reviews, but this was just not for me. This was not sweet or tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
My family loved it - easy, easy, easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe to make a simple sweet and sour chicken in a slow cooker. I followed the recipe but cut the BBQ sauce down to one bottle, (I used Sweet Baby Ray's, my absolute fave), crushed pineapple, red onion and celery (no green pepper on hand). Tasted great served over rice; definitely sweet and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mckarlson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States