Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
completely overcooked the chicken--7-8 hours on low is TOO LONG...and the taste was just too fake or something. Maybe real pineapple would make it taste more real.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This did not go over well in my family. It had an acidy taste. The only thing I left out was the green pepper because I didn't have any, but I don't think that would have made it a whole lot different. I also think it was too much onion. I will have to tweak it and find a taste that we might like but I will not be making this again in it's current form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This turned out SO WELL! Changes: I used about 25 oz bbq sauce, a can of crushed pineapple, extra (frozen) green pepper, and 3 cloves garlic. The chicken was almost completely thawed so I was able to cook it for 3 or 3.5 hours on high and it turned out perfectly. Serve it with some brown rice - it sops up the juice and tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was pretty good. My kids however did not like it and my husband said it tasted like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Served over rice. Next time might add chipotle peppers and some mixed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this dish over the weekend. My husband liked it a little, I did not. I used the crushed pineapple as read in reviews, but this was just not for me. This was not sweet or tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
My family loved it - easy, easy, easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe to make a simple sweet and sour chicken in a slow cooker. I followed the recipe but cut the BBQ sauce down to one bottle, (I used Sweet Baby Ray's, my absolute fave), crushed pineapple, red onion and celery (no green pepper on hand). Tasted great served over rice; definitely sweet and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mckarlson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I also made this with less BBQ sauce and it made plenty. I was afraid the Sweet BBQ sauce would be too sweet so I used HEBs new Texas Specialty series which has pretty good heat in it. One 14 oz bottle with 8 boneless, skinless thighs to reduce calories and fat worked well. Based on reviews, I added some ginger and served this over Jasmine rice. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
The sauce base was great. I did not have chicken available so I cut a small boneless pork sirloin roast into thick "chops". I used the sauce but added fresh pineapple(I did not have canned handy), also added red pepper with the green. I seared the "chops" then put all in the crock pot for 6 hours on low. Came out wonderfully moist and tender. I served with baked rice and garlic french cut green beans. Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States