Slow Cooker Sweet and Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Very good recipe. We put it over a fried rice recipe I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
We made it with baby Portobello mushrooms instead of peppers and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was tasty. I put in 8 frozen boneless chicken breasts and set the slow cooker on low and cooked them for 5.5 hours and everything was perfectly cooked. I didn't use 2 full bottles of sauce, just 1.5 and there was still lots of sauce leftover. My fiance says this is a definite must for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very yummy! The first time I made it, just regular BBQ sauce was too spicy for me, so the second time around I used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ and it was perfect. I eliminated the onion and the garlic, added a red pepper, and used a large can of pineapple tidbits instead of chunks. My husband and I both loved it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was so delicious and my hubby loved it! I will def. be making this again! I took the advice of a review and used sweet baby rays honey BBQ, served over white rice and it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I did not like this at all. It didn't taste very good and the chicken was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Followed exactly as written except decreased 2 bottles of BBQ sauce to about a bottle and a half and it was fine. Did thicken with some cornstarch at the end but you don't have to do that, still tasted great. Only cooked for 6 hours as well and it was done. Used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ as suggested by others. It is a different taste, much sweeter but it grows on you! My husband LOVED it. If you like a sweeter BBQ taste, give it a try! VERY easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was perfect! I double the amount of pineapple and add fresh pineapple during the last 30 minutes of cook time. I then served over rice. Very sweet and tangy with a mild kick at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My Family loved it!!! I used Sweet Baby Rays and Crushed pinapple (cause that is what i had in my pantry. The juice was real thing but i was fine once we pour over rice it was fine cause it absorbed it. it was so delicious and sweet bbq taste. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yum! Que sabroso! I wanted MORE sauce! (I'm not understanding how people thought there was too much sauce.) I used every drop of two 18-oz bottles of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce and one can of crushed (not chunk) pineapple with all the juice. I used 2 green peppers instead of one. Garlic and red onion as directed. I used 8 skinless boneless chicken thighs. (My experience is that dark meat chicken is the best to use in a slow cooker. Breasts dry out in a slow cooker.) I cooked it on low for 8 hours and it wasn't overcooked at all. Perhaps that's because I used dark meat instead of breasts. Dark meat cooks more slowly. Served over rice. Kids ages 11, 13 and 13 raved about it. Next time, I will double all the ingredients except the chicken. Like I said, I wanted more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States