Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My husband loved this dish (he's a fan of sweet foods)! I was sure to buy an original recipe BBQ sauce (nothing with extra sweetness like honey varieties) and served it over plain steamed rice. I particularly liked the color of the dish - a nice, rich, and warm. I'll definitely make this again as it was a big hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Linarelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Absolutely loved it. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Comes out great, very easy! I made it twice in one week, once for my husband and I and once for dinner with friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
One of the best recipes I've ever tried...was a little curious as to how barbecue and chili sauce would make a sweet and sour sauce, but it does. Instead of canned pineapple, I cut up an actual pineapple. I used Sweet Baby Rays hickory barbecue sauce...can't believe how easy it turned out, and how good it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a very easy and quick meal to throw together in the slow cooker. I found it a little too sweet, but my husband thought it was wonderful. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory Smoked BBQ Sauce because it's what I had, but would imagine you could control the sweetness by using a different kind of BBQ sauce. I served it over rice and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Needless to say this was one of the most delicious meals I've had involving chicken. Having never used a slow cooker before, the preparation was quick and painless. For those who want more bang and less meat, I would suggest adjusting this recipe to include two of each bell peppers, and decrease the amount of sauces to 3 quarters, as there was just too much chicken, and was a little too spicy for our typical Western tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My family loved it, and it was very easy to put together. One of the best chicken recipes ever. The sweetness depends on the bar-b-que sauce; some are sweeter than others. I used Sweet Baby Ray's. AnnaLouise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I made my own chile sauce and used sweet and sour sauce instead of barbecue. I like it sweet on rice. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My husband made this today and I LOVED it. He used MC Masterpiece BBQ sauce( after reading some of the reviews.) He shredded the chicken after 4-5 hours in crock pot at low setting. and added a second 8 oz can crushed pineapples. Tends to be watery, so he mixed 1 Tbls of brown sugar and 1 Tbls of corn starch with some pineapple juice from can and added to thicken. YUM YUM. Served on brown rice. I give it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made it thinking "great slow cooker recipes, they always taste......mmeehhh".............I WAS WRONG. the whole family absolutely loved it. Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States