Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This recipe is so popular and famous in my family that I have to make at least 2 crock pots of it. One for Thanksgiving and one for left overs. This is a pretty moist stuffing as is. If you like drier (fluffy) stuffing, use only about 1/2 of the chicken broth. Also, I've made this with both fresh and dried herbs...and fresh is the WAY TO GO with this. It tastes so awesome. If you use fresh herbs double the amount given for the dried as fresh herbs are not as pungent as dried. It is also imperative that very stale dried bread is used. It helps soak up all that broth. If you use fresh bread it will be very, very soggy, even if you cut the amount of broth in half. This recipe does not need to be cooked for 8 hours. Make sure mix up the stuffing every so often so the edges don't form a crust...although some people in my family like it kinda crusty. Also, the size of the bread cubes matters. My family likes it best when the cubes are about half an inch by half an inch. I personally like them bigger. Don;t make them larger than 1 inch by inch though, otherwise it is much harder to mix up the spices and butter and you will end up with pieces of bread that have no real taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attica, New York, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I have used this recipe for the past 4 years; I've scaled the recipe up to 25 servings for my office holiday luncheon and scaled it down to 8 servings for meals at home. I have had four years to perfect this recipe, so here are some tips. This stuffing is very, very moist so use the butter and chicken broth sparingly. 1 cup of butter is 2 sticks - I only use 1 stick for 25 servings (two sticks left a butter layer across the top). Also, I use only enough broth to just moisten the bread - I used the stated amount one year and ended up with stuffing soup (which everyone still said tasted wonderful). If I use mushrooms, I use canned. I have omitted the mushrooms and added shredded carrots that I cooked with the onions, etc. I also shred the celery. I omit the marjoram and add rosemary. Handling such a large amount of bread cubes can be unwieldy, so I put half of the bread directly into the slowcooker, follow the directions in Step 2 using half of all the ingredients, moisten with a just enough broth, and toss lightly. Then I do the same thing with the remaining ingredients in a large bowl, which I then combine with the other half in the slowcooker. Like some others, I only needed to cook this about 45 minutes on high and 3-4 hours on low. All-in-all a very nice recipe that I was able to easily change to fit my tastes. When I take this to my office luncheon, there is never any left to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Excellent recipe! Only changes I made were that I added all the spices to the onions and butter...mom taught me that many years ago...makes it easier to get the flavours all through the stuffing. I also finely chopped the mushrooms, so that we had the flavour, but they were disguised for the kids! Only used 2 cups of broth and cooked for about 5 1/2 hours, stirring three times to prevent sticking. All raved, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This stuffing is REALLY good. I had to add more bread though because it calls for too much broth...would be gooey. Next time I'll start with less broth. Also, I would decrease the salt to one tsp..was a tad too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I've made my stuffing this way for years. If you periodically add some drippings from the turkey, this will come out tasting EXACTLY like it was made inside the bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This was a fantastic alternative to in-the-bird stuffing, and it tasted great! Five stars for saving space in my oven, but just four overall because I thought it needed a couple of adjustments: I omitted the eggs entirely. I just didn't think the stuffing needed it, and it tasted and looked perfectly good without. I started with about 2 cups of chicken broth, and added some drippings from my turkey as it cooked. Make sure you mix the stuffing thoroughly each time you do this. For those of you who want to also save time on Turkey Day, I took care of steps 1 and 2 the night before, and put the crock pot into the fridge overnight. Pulled it out and plugged it in mid-afternoon the next day, and it was perfect with our meal after 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Great! Finally a stuffing you can make out of the turkey that is moist. I used fresh mushrooms which I sauteed with the other stuff and because of the mushroom 'sweat' I used only 1 and 1/4 cans of broth and it was perfect (and my bread cubes were very dry). I also added three chopped apples about 1 hour before serving and it was great - also only cooked for 4 hrs on low and it was great (added a bit of broth after about 3 hrs to keep the sides from crusting). GREAT STUFFING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This was an awesome recipe. This was the first time that I had ever tried to make stuffing that wasn't in a box. I was really nervous because I new I had 30 people showing up for dinner and didn't know if it was going to turn out. The outcome was great, everyone loved it. I doubled it up to 32 servings. I also omitted the mushrooms but added pork sausage. I also used 7 cups of chicken both instead of 9. I prepared it all the night before and let it sit in the refrigerator over night. The next morning I got up and put it on. However, I do recommend only cooking it for 4 hours instead of 8. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who is wanting a stuffing recipe that is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
What a great way to make stuffing. I prepared this the night before and put it on when I woke up the next morning. The stuffing was nice and moist and very flavorful. Everybody couldn't wait to try it! Thanks for the great recipe Gayle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is a huge hit at Thanksgiving every year. Easy to prepare and cooks all day in the slow cooker. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States