Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
this was exceptional!! After being married for 8 years this was my first year cooking the whole christmas dinner and I was eager to succeed! This was super easy and tasted like stove top instand stuffing but better! I followed other reviewers tips and added less water but otherwise I didn't change anything. the flavor was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was easy and good. I did only use about a cup and a half of broth as other reviewers had suggested. We don't do mushrooms so I added extra onion and celery. I stirred right before serving and loved the crusty edges getting mixed in. It was as if the top had browned in the oven. Plenty of non-stick spray around the bowl before cooking made clean up easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
As previous reviews stated, be very carefull with adding the broth or you will end up with a soupy mess. I added only about a cup of broth and it was more then enough. Used fresh white bread which may have been the difference. Do not overcook & keep stirring the pot occassionally. Everyone raved about the stuffing- great flavour and texture. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hi5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is the best stuffing. The only change I made was to put all the spices in with the butter and veggies. I also used all the broth since I was putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this for thanksgiving and it was my favorite dish of the day. SO EASY! And we all love one less thing to worry about on holidays. I used the tip from another reviewer and put a kitchen towel under the lid of the crockpot, and that help keep the stuffing from getting too wet with condensation. Great tip! Also, you definitely need to use only about half the broth at first, then tinker with it later to get your desired level of moistness. I used a honey wheat bread and a challah bread together, and I absolutely loved the combined flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have served this stuffing at the last 3 Thanksgivings that I have hosted. Its a fantastic way to make stuffing and not take up any more stove space. I do add some sage sausage, I give the sliced mushrooms a rough chop and like the other reviews I cut the chicken broth in half. I start with just adding 2 cups, if its still really dry I add a bit more and after cooking half way I take a quick taste and maybe add more if needed. My crock pot cooks really fast so I cook it on low for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was a great way to make stuffing. I greatly reduced the butter (to 1/4 cup) and the broth after reading other reviews. I think I used less than half the broth. I purchased hamburger buns and let them sit out over night to dry out. I used more than the recipe called for (about an extra 1-2 cups). I used canned mushrooms and diced them small. I cooked all of the vegetables in butter (less than the recipe called for) and a bit of olive oil. I used fresh rosemary instead of marjoram. The flavor was really good and so was the texture. I cooked it for about 5 hours in the crockpot and stirred it every hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was delicious AND convenient!! A warning to others, though--make sure to turn the crockpot off when you begin serving--amidst all the excitement of Thanksgiving Dinner, we left the cooker on, and the bottom 1/4 cooked into a hard mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe is good but I'm very glad I read some of the other reviews. I like stuffing to be moist and 2 1/2 - 3 cups of liquid was just right for me. I cooked on high for the first 45 mins and turned to low for 5 hours, stirring once after 2-3 hours. It seemed overcooked to me. I think next time I'll do 30 mins on high and 3 hours on low. I think with some changes this could be a 4 star recipe. I'm only giving it a 3 as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was the hit of the Thanksgiving feast. So easy and freed up oven space. Perfect for the Vegetarians at my table. This will be a regular addition to Thanksgiving from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States